5E Product Walkthrough Playlist
Page 1 of 4 123 ... Last
  1. #1

    Connection Test Failing

    hey guys ---

    I've been running FG for over 3 years now, with nary a problem. Today, my connection test failed and I'm baffled as to how this could happen. Is anyone available to help me with a walkthrough for this problem?

    Thanks. I truly appreciate it.

    John

  2. #2
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26,770
    Blog Entries
    1
    Sorry John - I gotta get some sleep.
    If its been working ok in the past - try rebooting your router
    If you did any configuration initially to make it work then also check what IP the port forward rule is pointing to and what IP your computer has.
    Good luck!

  3. #3
    I did nothing to configure it for use originally. Its been working fine from Day 1. I reset my modem and router and its still a no-go, buckaroo.

  4. #4
    Myrdin Potter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    East Bay, SF
    Posts
    1,979
    Blog Entries
    4
    Can you provide some details of how you connect to the internet? Generally you need to do port forwarding from your router, are you sure you did not do that when you first got it and it has just been working ever since?

    What operating system do you use?
    Ultimate License. Running Hyperborea and CoC. Asks lots of questions. Mgpotter.com. PureVPN is a tested solution to run games when traveling. https://billing.purevpn.com/aff.php?aff=33044

  5. #5
    midas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    286
    The most common reason I've seen cause the "it was working and now it isn't" issue is that the router was configured to forward inbound traffic to the computer's IP address, and that IP address has changed. For example in the past you may have set it up to forward traffic to 192.168.1.101 and now your computer has 192.168.1.102.

  6. #6
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26,770
    Blog Entries
    1
    please do the following command in a command prompt:

    tracert 8.8.8.8

    and post here. if you would like me to look with you please send me your email via PM.

  7. #7
    I have a game with three other players - all of us from all of our locations are not able to connect to me, or to each other and all "Run Test" are failing. Three locations all have been working before.

  8. #8
    Myrdin Potter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    East Bay, SF
    Posts
    1,979
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Gollwyn View Post
    I have a game with three other players - all of us from all of our locations are not able to connect to me, or to each other and all "Run Test" are failing. Three locations all have been working before.
    I am not 100% sure what the question here is. You all have at least the full license, you each have been running games in the past, and now no one can connect to each other?

    Are you all using the same isp and are close to each other?
    Ultimate License. Running Hyperborea and CoC. Asks lots of questions. Mgpotter.com. PureVPN is a tested solution to run games when traveling. https://billing.purevpn.com/aff.php?aff=33044

  9. #9
    Zacchaeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    21,011
    Quote Originally Posted by Gollwyn View Post
    I have a game with three other players - all of us from all of our locations are not able to connect to me, or to each other and all "Run Test" are failing. Three locations all have been working before.
    Do all of you have a Standard License or better?
    If there is something that you would like to see in Fantasy Grounds that isn't currently part of the software or if there is something you think would improve a ruleset then add your idea here https://www.fantasygrounds.com/featu...rerequests.php

  10. #10
    LordEntrails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    -7 UTC
    Posts
    17,474
    Blog Entries
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Gollwyn View Post
    I have a game with three other players - all of us from all of our locations are not able to connect to me, or to each other and all "Run Test" are failing. Three locations all have been working before.
    You will need to tell us more. Have you checked your port forwarding and internal IP? Can you post tracert info like above? You can also check out the Discord server and see if anyone in the support channel can help out realtime.

    Problems? See; How to Report Issues, Bugs & Problems
    On Licensing & Distributing Community Content
    Community Contributions: Gemstones, 5E Quick Ref Decal, Adventure Module Creation, Dungeon Trinkets, Balance Disturbed, Dungeon Room Descriptions
    Note, I am not a SmiteWorks employee or representative, I'm just a user like you.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
DICE PACKS BUNDLE

Log in

Log in