Starfinder Playlist
Page 1 of 4 123 ... Last
    Blog Entries

On Licensing; Distribution of Community Content

This is not legal advice. I am not a lawyer, expert in intellectual property, or software licensing. But it has been a topic of interest for me for years and something I have researched many times and believe the information below to be accurate. If you have concerns then you should research the topic on your own. If you have significant financial interests, you should seek the legal advice of a qualified attorney.

This post is designed to help community members, both user and developers, understand some of the legal and social aspects around community extensions, modules and other content. Though written for the FG forums, only the discussion of section 5 of the FG EULA is specific to this forum or this program. It also is generally applicable though of particular focus on the laws of the United States, which is generally applicable since SmiteWorks is a US company and the website is hosted in the USA.

The Summary – The short of what you need to know;

If you are a user, anything posted online you can use for your personal and non-commercial use (generally that’s why it’s been posted). Do not redistribute anything in any form, unless it is posted with a license that says you can. Assume it is illegal to do so (because it is) and if you want to redistribute it or use it in your own creations (in whole or in part; on your website, Discord server, or anywhere else), ask the person who created it. Remember, the laws are about distribution, not commercialization so it doesn’t matter if you are charging money or not.

If you are a developer (i.e. you want to create something and share it with others), please do, please share! But remember a few things;