Starfinder Playlist

DM Looking for Suggestions

Hello All,

It's been a rather long time since I've touched fantasy grounds let alone do anything in it. Due to life circumstances I've had to pull out both as a DM and a player. I'm interested in getting started back up but would love any suggestions to help me get jump started.

A bit of background, I've used fantasy grounds classic for a few years, tabletop for over a decade, and am mostly familiar with 3.5/pathfinder. I'm fairly competent with technology, but I'm no coder. I'm currently a single father, caring for two girls and working full time so don't nearly have as much free time as I used to. I own dungeon painter (on steam), but would love to be pointed to some map resources due to my limited time. FGU and 5E are new to me, but they may be the best fit for me and my friends. I mostly prefer home brew settings/story but stay true to the majority of a ruleset. Based on all this, I'm thinking that the community could potentially be a huge help to me and would appreciate any assistance that can be offered.

First off, my current intent is to upgrade FGU Ultimate and potentially purchase the D&D5E essentials package. My thoughts are I can cut down massively on prep time if it's mostly all drag and drop. If my perception is off, please help me align my expectations. Next, I would love to have some DM's preferred addons that have been used with the latest unity build. I've realized just how much they can help in the past, and wonder if it's more or less the same for the Unity version. I'd be lying if I claimed to remember all the essentials I used to use as a player/DM/GM.

If nothing else, it's nice to reach back out to this community. Thank you for the read and any tips you may send my way.