5E Product Walkthrough Playlist
Page 1 of 6 123 ... Last
  1. #1
    Patou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    South-shore of Montreal, QC. Canada
    Posts
    543

    Getting Ready For FGU

    Hi Team FG,

    I'm going to be shopping for a new laptop during the holidays and I wanted to know if there was anything I need to worry about in order to run a future version of FG? Such as ram and graphics?

    Thank you
    Patou a.k.a: Patmaster
    Challenging players since 1987
    2E, 3.5E & now 5E
    https://twitter.com/PatouLeFou
    Discord = @PatouLeFou

  2. #2
    Well, the specifics are not yet released but a generic system requirements would start at the minimums for Unity 5, which can be found here. They aren't very demanding at all.

  3. #3
    Patou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    South-shore of Montreal, QC. Canada
    Posts
    543
    Quote Originally Posted by OTG_Wraith View Post
    Well, the specifics are not yet released but a generic system requirements would start at the minimums for Unity 5, which can be found here. They aren't very demanding at all.
    Thanks
    Patou a.k.a: Patmaster
    Challenging players since 1987
    2E, 3.5E & now 5E
    https://twitter.com/PatouLeFou
    Discord = @PatouLeFou

  4. #4
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,586
    I'd say RAM will be important - if you plan on having a lot of images, etc.. The current maximum memory use of approx. 3.5GB will not be present in Unity version.
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  5. #5
    Patou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    South-shore of Montreal, QC. Canada
    Posts
    543
    Quote Originally Posted by Trenloe View Post
    I'd say RAM will be important - if you plan on having a lot of images, etc.. The current maximum memory use of approx. 3.5GB will not be present in Unity version.
    8GB or more should be enough?
    Patou a.k.a: Patmaster
    Challenging players since 1987
    2E, 3.5E & now 5E
    https://twitter.com/PatouLeFou
    Discord = @PatouLeFou

  6. #6
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,586
    Quote Originally Posted by Patou View Post
    8GB or more should be enough?
    Do you only ever run one instance of FG on the computer? What other applications do you run when using Fantasy Grounds? How many modules, maps, etc. will you be using?

    I'd say 8GB will be the absolute bare minimum. If you want to be able to run FG (and other Windows applications) into the future then I'd recommend getting more - or at least making sure you can expand the current memory easily.
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  7. #7
    Patou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    South-shore of Montreal, QC. Canada
    Posts
    543
    Quote Originally Posted by Trenloe View Post
    Do you only ever run one instance of FG on the computer? What other applications do you run when using Fantasy Grounds? How many modules, maps, etc. will you be using?

    I'd say 8GB will be the absolute bare minimum. If you want to be able to run FG (and other Windows applications) into the future then I'd recommend getting more - or at least making sure you can expand the current memory easily.
    Noted..more = better
    I run one instance of FG. However I also run my browser with multiple tabs open, OneNote, and sometimes Tokentool for last minute tokens i need.

    thanks
    Patou a.k.a: Patmaster
    Challenging players since 1987
    2E, 3.5E & now 5E
    https://twitter.com/PatouLeFou
    Discord = @PatouLeFou

  8. #8
    Patou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    South-shore of Montreal, QC. Canada
    Posts
    543
    Ram = 16GB DDR4 good?
    Graphics = NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 4GB GDDR5 okay?
    Patou a.k.a: Patmaster
    Challenging players since 1987
    2E, 3.5E & now 5E
    https://twitter.com/PatouLeFou
    Discord = @PatouLeFou

  9. #9
    Springroll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden CET
    Posts
    260
    Quote Originally Posted by Patou View Post
    Ram = 16GB DDR4 good?
    Graphics = NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 4GB GDDR5 okay?
    Yes, that should be quite OK

  10. #10
    Patou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    South-shore of Montreal, QC. Canada
    Posts
    543
    Awesome

    The last thing I want is to buy a new laptop and end up having it not meeting up to FGU when it comes out. I'm investing in my basement and hobby so for me this counts a great deal.

    When u have a passion u want the best out of it.

    Thanks
    Patou a.k.a: Patmaster
    Challenging players since 1987
    2E, 3.5E & now 5E
    https://twitter.com/PatouLeFou
    Discord = @PatouLeFou

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Dungeons & Dragons 2024 Core Rulebooks Pre-Order

Log in

Log in