STAR TREK 2d20
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. #1

    Desktop Graphic Help

    MODERATOR: Moved post to new thread as it was posted in a only vaguely related thread - please post questions in a relevant thread or create a new one specific to your question/s. Thanks.

    Is there a chance that someone help me with my new "desktop"Attachment 4595

    <framedef name="desktop">
    <bitmap file="frames/desktop.png" />
    <middle rect="0,0,200,200" />
    <right rect="200,0,97,200" />
    <decal rect="300,0,700,500" />
    </framedef>

    I need the correct pixels i have to change in the graphic_frames
    I dont understand the basics of chapter one: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/filel..._a_Ruleset.pdf
    pls help me to edit this
    Last edited by Trenloe; August 8th, 2013 at 17:43.

  2. #2
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,413
    See this thread from post #7 onwards: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forum...paper-question

    The desktop.png graphic is not just a single graphic - you need 3 sections, the main area that gets tiled depending on the size of the screen, the graphic that gets vertically tiled down the right and the decal that is put in the middle. The above mentioned thread discusses this.

    Your graphic above is going to be difficult to use - unless you have it as a centre decal, with a tiled plain background (black?). The above referenced thread shows an example of this in post #13 on page 2 - the 2nd image is the desktop.png file which has a black background (tiled), a grey graphic image for the right toolbar and the large decal to go in the middle of the screen.
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  3. #3
    i dont need another background. rest of it can be black.
    the only thing i want is to get the picture in the mid of FGII, even if i scale the window-mode

  4. #4
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,413
    OK, so create a graphic similar to that produced by Doswelk in post #13 of the above mentioned reference. Use a graphics application to modify Doswelk's second image and overlay your graphic where the Deadlands Noir graphic is now. If you keep the same dimensions for your initial test you can use the values for middle, right and decal that Doswelk uses.
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  5. #5
    Be prepared though. If the image is to large (effectively completely covering the tiles) the image will tile in unforeseen ways. It's best to play it safe and work with a "smallish" picture to begin with. Oh, and a sky blue to black circular radial shade should clear up the color problems.
    Last edited by S Ferguson; August 8th, 2013 at 18:53.
    Aliens.... Go fig?

  6. #6
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,413
    Here's a very quick and dirty mod to Doswelk's image file. This is how it comes out in CoC if the Deadlands: Noir image is removed, a black background replaced and the image from post #1 placed on top:



    Here is the file - you'll probably want to modify this to make it fit better, which will then need the dimensions in graphics_frames.xml to be changed to match.

    Attachment 4596
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  7. #7
    pretty nice... exactly what i want

    EDIT: When i use the graphic_frames above, there is just:
    Last edited by Frostgeneral; August 11th, 2013 at 17:06.

  8. #8
    Doswelk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    2,681
    You need to use the XML code I provided in the other thread along with the Deadlands Noir image to get it to work, you cannot just change the Deadlands image and use the XML code at the start of this thread.
    My players just defeated an army, had a dogfight with aliens, machine-gunned the zombies, stormed the tower, became Legendary and died heroically

    Yours are still on combat round 6

    Get Savage
    Ultimate License Holder.
    First GM to post a game for the original FG Con!

  9. #9
    You have to take care to stay within the prescribed boundaries. The picture has to be in the same scale as the image you're replacing, otherwise the pixel count in the xml file will give odd results, which is what I'm seeing from your screenshot.
    Aliens.... Go fig?

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Doswelk View Post
    Right here's my attempt

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
    
    <root version="2.8" logo="logo.png">
    	<properties>
    		<name>Deadlands Noir</name>
    		<version>0.10</version>
    		<author>Kevin Dowell</author>
    		<description>Deadlands Noir Theme</description>
    		<ruleset>
    			<name>SavageWorlds3</name>
    			<minrelease>3.3</minrelease>
    		</ruleset>
    	</properties>
    	<base>
    		<!-- GRAPHICS -->
    		<framedef name="desktop">
    			<bitmap file="graphics/frames/desktop_background.png" />
    				<middle rect="0,0,512,512" />
    				<right rect="513,0,97,1000" />
    				<decal rect="613,0,1240,1000" />
    		</framedef>	
    	</base>
    </root>
    In Gimp I created a 1900x1000 image with a transparent background.

    The first layer was a 512x512 black rectangle top left

    The second layer was a rectangle starting at pixel 513 and 97 pixels wide and 1000 pixels deep.

    The final area was the "decal" this starts at 613 and was 1240x1000 pixels.
    First one i tryed

    Quote Originally Posted by Trenloe View Post
    For Savage worlds, the desktop is defined in "graphics_frames.xml" as follows:
    Code:
    <framedef name="desktop">
    		<bitmap file="graphics/frames/desktop_background.png" />
    		<middle rect="0,0,512,512" />
    		<right rect="512,0,768,1002" />
    		<decal rect="1318,0,682,276" />
     </framedef>
    More info the <framedef> here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/refdoc/framedef.xcp

    All of the above coordinates are: "x,y, width, height" in pixels.

    • "middle" is the portion that gets tiled. This graphic should have edges that "fit" with each other or the tiling will be obvious.
    • "right" is the bit that gets tiled vertically down the right hand side - usually the right side margin for the toolbar. The top and bottom edges should fit with each other or the vertical tiling will be obvious.
    • "decal" is the bit that gets put in the middle of the screen. This should usually be transparent if it is not a solid block.
    both graphic_frames just gave me a blackscreen. my desktop is named desktop_background, i created a new campaign, load the old one... allways just the blackscreen

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
FG Spreadshirt Swag

Log in

Log in