5E Product Walkthrough Playlist
Page 1 of 3 123 Last

Session length: what do to think is “right”

First this question is posed as part “research” for me to consider for a new campaign I hope to spin up in the coming months but I’m also just curious what people think.

My standard sessions have been three hours for many years even go back before I started playing with fantasy grounds (2018).

But if you were searching for a game as a player and saw sessions were planned to only be two hours or two and a half..would that turn you off?

I’m considering shortening my games as a compromise to less spare time I find myself with, at the same time I enjoy running games a lot so do not want to give it up completely.

That’s it was just wondering.

Ps I made a typo in the title sorry but it doesn’t let me edit the title to fix it.

Personal opinion - 2 hours might be pretty tight. IT will feel like you are just starting to get going before the session ends due to people being a few minutes late, recap, general conversation at the start, etc. I run 3 hour sessions and man do they go by fast.

I would run at least 2 1/2 hours so you have the 1/2 hour to do all those things listed above.

I will also say this though, if you do not have the time and have to run 2 hour sessions, then do it because, playing a little bit of D&D, Pathfinder, etc is better than not playing at all!

Blog Entries
    Most of my games go for between 2.5 and 3 hours, finishing closer to the 2.5 end of the range. Occasionally I go up to an hour beyond that, but it kind of depends on the night and the in game situation, and whether the players present are all up for it.

Back in the day I could DM for 8+ hours at a stretch and be happy with a bottle of pop and a few slices of pizza... now I don't think my body could do it and my brain certainly can't.