Dune 2d20
  1. #1

    Initiative quiestion?

    The book states that the "When Combat begins, the player who initiated the combat takes a turn immediately."
    Does this mean they get a single action before initiative begins or do they get to do a minor action, a major action and maybe spend AP to take further actions?

    Best Regards,
    Claus

  2. #2
    Valyar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,059
    It means they act first, full turn.
    The past is a rudder to guide us, not an anchor to hold us back.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Valyar View Post
    It means they act first, full turn.
    scenario: two characters walk into a Raider ambush, the Raiders don't want to kill the Characters they'd rather have the wasteland do that, they just want their stuff. The Raiders have their guns pointed at the two characters already, the Characters, for whatever reason do not have their weapons drawn, one Player decides to Quick draw (as per the perk he/she has), his 10mm effectively initiating Combat. Do the Raiders not get a round off first as they are already aiming at the Characters or does the Quickdraw perk allow the character to actually attack first as the Quickdraw Perk doesn't take an action to draw an item on the person, or since the Raiders were "Ready" does that negate the "First to act" gets a turn before initiative?

    This of coarse does not account for any of the Raiders being Twitchy from Withdrawals, Nerves, fear or the like.

    Regards,
    Claus

  4. #4
    Valyar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,059
    Quick Draw perk allows drawing a single weapon per turn as free action instead of minor action. Therefore, it does not give you any advantage in the combat.
    In your example, if the Raiders will open the combat, as per the rules - the one who initiates the combat acts immediately. Then you arrange the combatants as per their initiative. This is on page 24. If you think the raider and your PCs are eyeing each other out and both know something will happen and it is matter of who will be quicker, then you can make a struggle (opposed check) between them and whoever wins - starts the combat.

    Same approach when you want an ambush. Depending on the setup, can be passive or opposed checks.
    The past is a rudder to guide us, not an anchor to hold us back.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Valyar View Post
    Quick Draw perk allows drawing a single weapon per turn as free action instead of minor action. Therefore, it does not give you any advantage in the combat.
    In your example, if the Raiders will open the combat, as per the rules - the one who initiates the combat acts immediately. Then you arrange the combatants as per their initiative. This is on page 24. If you think the raider and your PCs are eyeing each other out and both know something will happen and it is matter of who will be quicker, then you can make a struggle (opposed check) between them and whoever wins - starts the combat.

    Same approach when you want an ambush. Depending on the setup, can be passive or opposed checks.
    excellent information, didn't think of opposed checks/struggle, thank you so much!!!

    Regards,
    Claus

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
DICE PACKS BUNDLE

Log in

Log in