Kobold Press Midgard Bundle

Thread: Bonus Spells?

  1. #1

    Bonus Spells?

    Someone in our group referenced in the PHB (5e) that if you cast a spell as a bonus action you are limited to only casting cantrips after that, is this true? If so could you cast a regular spell, then a bonus spell, because you didn't cast the bonus spell first?

    Been away from my books for a while so don't know how it is exactly worded?

  2. #2
    In 5E, the rules for casting spells in both action and bonus action are that if you cast a leveled spell (levels 1-9 or whatever for your class) as an action or a bonus action; then you can only cast a cantrip for the other part (action/bonus action). So if you cast Healing word as a bonus action, you can only cast a cantrip for you action say Sacred Flame.

  3. #3
    Ok was reading an article where they were casting Misty Step and then casting witch bolt, I thought they were wrong but wanted to make sure.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Jpeichorn View Post
    Ok was reading an article where they were casting Misty Step and then casting witch bolt, I thought they were wrong but wanted to make sure.
    By default this scenerio is not right by RAW but a group might have changed that ruling.

    Now, if they had cast Witch Bolt on a different turn and were just using their action for the continuing action of Witch Bolt; while casting Misty Step that round. That is a legal setup of being able to cast in 5E (since the attack of Witch Bolt is just a continuation of a previous cast spell which you have concentration on).

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
FG Forge

Log in

Log in