5E Product Walkthrough Playlist
Page 3 of 6 First 12345 ... Last
  1. #21

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    7,398
    Ah, I misunderstood you. If the image frame pops with no image in it's almost always a pathing problem to the image. What that is telling you is it can't find the image.

  2. #22
    Phystus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Central Indiana
    Posts
    451
    Blog Entries
    20

    Problem solved!

    I did some searching about on the forum yesterday and found some threads where people had posted their 'house rules' reference mods. I downloaded a couple and saw that they had coded their images just like I did. The only difference was that both the ones I downloaded were client modules, not common.

    I saved mine as client, but with no other changes, put a copy on my wife's laptop via sneakernet, and it worked.

    So apparently images in reference modules won't download from the host?

    In any case, this does give me a bit more flexibility on file size.

    Thanks for the help!

    ~P

  3. #23

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    7,398
    Referance images can be downloaded from the host. Most Savage World player modules use the arrangement.

  4. #24
    Phystus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Central Indiana
    Posts
    451
    Blog Entries
    20
    Well, I basically copied what you had so kindly posted earlier. Here's the code.

    Code:
    				</text>
    			</id-00004>
    			<id-00005>
    				<name type="string">Map of Plynar</name>
    					<librarylink type="windowreference">
    						<class>imagewindow</class>
    						<recordname>image.id-00002</recordname>
    					</librarylink>
    			</id-00005>		
    			</entries>
    		</Plynarinfo>
    	</library>
    					<image>
    						<id-00002>
    							<image type="image">
    								<bitmap>images/plynarmap2.jpg</bitmap>
    							</image>
    						</id-00002>
    					</image>	
    </root>
    As a common module the image displayed on my (GM) system, but not hers (player). As a client module it works on both. The map is in the images subfolder in the .mod file, and the filename is correct, including case.

    I'm still curious what the deal is, but it does work OK as a client module, so at least the immediate problem is solved. Thanks for all your help with this!

    ~P

  5. #25

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    7,398
    The xml looks right. When you made the common module, you did include the image folder with the map inside the library module when you zipped up the module? IE you should have zipped up common.xml, definition.xml, thumbnail.png and images folder to make the library module.

    I didn't realize you were going to use a library link the call to pop the image. I would suggest you add @Name of Module after all top level library link calls (doesn't have any effect on your problem though). There might be some benefits to you by doing this down the line if you do a second module and you start doing module cross linking.

    As a general rule client modules are better for static data you are not going to change and don't mind having on the client. Common modules are better when you expect the data to change and don't want your clients to worry about updates or you don't want the module on the client.

    Edit: For future referance (since the thread was resurrected) the xml above has a problem in the <id-0002> area it should read (the red text was missing):

    Code:
    <image>
    	<id-00002>
    	             <image type="image">
    			<bitmap>images/plynarmap2.jpg</bitmap>
    		     </image>
                         <name type="string">Plynar Map</name>
    	</id-00002>
    </image>
    Last edited by Griogre; September 27th, 2008 at 18:53.

  6. #26
    Phystus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Central Indiana
    Posts
    451
    Blog Entries
    20
    Yep, I did all that. About 30 times now.

    As in <recordname>image.id-00002@Plyar Information</recordname> ?

    I'll give it a shot, what the heck.

    I had been a bit torn between client and common, I suspect I'm not done deliniating house rules yet, I'm restarting an old AD&D campaign under 3.5 rules so there's lots of 'adjustments' to make. That was my motivation to go common. On the other hand, I can put in a nicer map with a client module without worrying about transfer problems. At least my players are a pretty computer savvy crowd, they won't have any problems installing it.

    Thanks for your help with this, I really appreciate it.

    ~P

  7. #27
    Foen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    2,007
    Quote Originally Posted by Phystus
    As in <recordname>image.id-00002@Plyar Information</recordname>
    Shouldn't that read Plynar Information?

    Foen

  8. #28
    Phystus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Central Indiana
    Posts
    451
    Blog Entries
    20
    Yep! Good catch!

    Luckily that wasn't a cut and paste from my code....

    ~P

  9. #29
    Cirra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    38
    Hi there. Thanks for this thread. It opened up a whole new world for me.

    I am wondering, though. Once you are done with the xml files, are you supposed to zip them back up? If so, are you supposed to change the file extension once you zip them?

  10. #30
    Yes just zip the files and rename them to be .mod

    Place them in the correct directory and FGII should detect them when you start.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
FG Spreadshirt Swag

Log in

Log in