DICE PACKS BUNDLE

FG I to II ruleset conversion for dummies?

Is there an easy way to convert a ruleset for FGI into FGII? I am not a programer by any stretch, but really want to get my Star Wars d6 ruleset to work for FGII

All depends what all you did to the original. THe hardest part of the conversion will be the Character Sheets and NPC sheets.

The "rules" are perhaps the easiest to convert over (presuming you included them).

I am by no means an expert, but I'm sure someone here can help out. I know I can help with some minor things (background graphics, rules conversion, windowclasses), but the character sheet loses me everytime I crack that code open.

I noticed there's a "generic" ruleset out there somewhere which would probably work best for you for the time being, it'd at least get you a character sheet to use
    Vincent Kingston
    [email protected]

Heh, Toadwart made the Generic ruleset, largely because I begged him to It's a great thing to use if you don't have a proper ruleset, and has been updated for FGII

The d6 Ruleset is mostly just the character sheet, background, side icons, tokens. No monsters or anything

In fact I may just transfer what I can into the Generic one

Hmm converting isn't too straightforward, but here's an overview.

Window classes: The biggest change is the introduction of anchors, so controls can resize automatically when the sheet is resized. If you don't need this then you can stick with the old 'bounds' approach. The introduction of Lua makes computed amounts (including some complex ones) more versatile, but I don't think you can use the previous mappings etc, so it kinda forces you to learn the scripting language.

Reference stuff: These are now in modules and managed quite differently. A module (.mod) is just a zip file (.zip) with the extension renamed, but it has a particular format (thumbnail icon, definition and data file). Try copying an existing module and renaming it back to .zip and have a look.