FG Spreadshirt Swag
  1. #1

    Clarification about upgrading from FGC to FGU license

    From the FAQ:
    Users who own both FGC and FGU will be able to run either platform to join or host games.
    For clarity, as a user with an existing FGC Ultimate license, if I were to purchase a FGU license, does the above mean I will effectively have two licenses? (one for FGC and a separate one for FGU)

    I have an existing ongoing FGC campaign that I don't want to interrupt, but am eager to start building in FGU at the same time.

    I realize this may be obvious based on the FAQ line I quoted, but looking for confirmation.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    LordEntrails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    -7 UTC
    Posts
    12,354
    Blog Entries
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by BakaMatt View Post
    For clarity, as a user with an existing FGC Ultimate license, if I were to purchase a FGU license, does the above mean I will effectively have two licenses? (one for FGC and a separate one for FGU)
    Yes, and you can have them both installed on the same computer, just do NOT use the same installation or data directory for both.

    I have an existing ongoing FGC campaign that I don't want to interrupt, but am eager to start building in FGU at the same time.
    You can migrate an FGC campaign to FGU, but not back.
    https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forum...ampaign-to-FGU

  3. #3
    I bought FGC Ultimate then I upgraded to Unity Ultimate and can use both. My main campaign is still in FGC. I hope the next one will be in unity.
    If you want a Wishlist in the Fantasy grounds store klick the link and upvote it.
    http://fg2app.idea.informer.com/proj/?ia=118601

  4. #4
    Hi there.
    English is not my native language.
    Just to be 100% sure.

    If i upgrade my FGC ultimate to FGU ultimate in steam(linked to FG of course):

    1: Do i still have the option to be a player/GM in both FGC and FGU?
    2: Can i use my old/new DLC in both FGC and FGU.
    3: Can i start new campaigns in both FGC and FGU.

    Or do I have to buy a separate FGU if I want to be able to play both FGU and FGC.

    Best regards.
    Joakim

  5. #5
    1 Yes in both You can be a player or DM as long as the DM is not using a Demo license. If the DM has a regular or Ultimate you are good.

    2 Yes. LOS Line of sight will not work in FGC other than that is will work. If you move a campaign to FGU you would not be able to move it back to FGC but you could always start a new on in either.

    3 Yes

    What happens when you upgrade is you get a discount on FGU. You will still have the Serial number for FGC and if you ever need to reinstall it then you want to use it. You will get a new serial number for FGU and when you install it you would just use that serial number.

    I have not tested but I am betting you would get an error if you tried to use the wrong serial number with the other product.
    Last edited by Granamere; September 19th, 2020 at 18:48.
    If you want a Wishlist in the Fantasy grounds store klick the link and upvote it.
    http://fg2app.idea.informer.com/proj/?ia=118601

  6. #6
    Thank you for the clarification..
    Best regards Joakim

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
DMsGuild Classic

Log in

Log in