DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Dumb Guy asking Computer Specs for FGU

Hello - I am 120% sorry and know this must have been asked before. I am a real-life writer/inspector, and NOT I.T., so please, please be patient with me.
    I GM('ed) in real life at least once a week. Role-playing is my favorite hobby, my escape, and my re-charge from 13-hour shifts stress (I watch little TV, and do not own any video games). However, these last few months have been making me want to role-play online, so I have been trying to learn FGU.

I want to be a GM for a group. There are about 5 to 6 players at one time. I notice the more players, the slower the game.
    What computer or internet do I need to run FGU in a normal "speed"? I have about 13 to 15 internet tabs open at a time for work and the Discord.
    Speaking of which, what is the best "push to talk" button, because all of them do something on FG like shift, Ctrl, Alt making different shortcuts.

Thank you for all the help.
    Last edited by Poe the Homunculus; June 29th, 2020 at 18:51.

Hi Poe, welcome to FG.

You'll find details here on specs https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forum...w-and-Download

I don't use PTT so I can't really advise.
    If there is something that you would like to see in Fantasy Grounds that isn't currently part of the software or if there is something you think would improve a ruleset then add your idea here https://www.fantasygrounds.com/featu...rerequests.php

Often the best PTT button is a mouse button other than right or left click - your hands on the mouse all the time anyway if you are not typing. On the keyboard, a good push to talk key is "Scroll Lock" or the "Num Lock" over the numeric keypad. Basically you are looking for toggle keys with no output. Personally as a DM I usually use voice activated - but obviously the amount of background noise where you are at can sometimes make that impossible.