5E Character Create Playlist
Page 1 of 3 123 Last

How do you transfer FG over to a new computer?

Got a new computer and what are procedures for relocating the FG to new machine.

Blog Entries
    I'm a noob but I thought it was just a matter of downloading/installing the demo on the new computer and entering your lisc key....

And then copying the contents of your "campaigns" folder, if you GM...

Hi John, welcome to FG.

In your old computer click the small icon at the top right of the start screen and this will take you to your FGData ffolder. If as Andraax says you are the DM then make a copy of the Campaigns folder onto a pen drive or external drive of some kind; or save it to Drop[box or whatever.

Install FG on your new computer; enter your license key and your username and password and then click update and FG will install and download any DLC that you have. You can then copy the campaigns folder from your old computer into the new one.
    If there is something that you would like to see in Fantasy Grounds that isn't currently part of the software or if there is something you think would improve a ruleset then add your idea here http://fgapp.idea.informer.com/

Blog Entries
    Since it's usually in a hidden folder you might need to go into windows setting. Gimme a minute to grab a screen shot.... I believe the App Data folder is hidden by default.

I just gifted a friend a Windows 10 box and know it's usually set to not show hidden files by default.
    go to the View tab -> Options -> View in the new pop up window -> a tiny bit down to click on the show hidden folders, files, ect.

Wanted to save you some frustration in case you didn't know how to change it. If you don't normally screw around with system files change it back to hide the stuff.

screenies.jpg
    Last edited by RunningWolf; December 25th, 2019 at 18:22. Reason: screen shot