1. #1

    Bonus Action Timing

    When does timing for a bonus action ability take effect or is allowed to be used such as the FEAT Shield Master. "* If you take the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to try to shove a creature within 5 feet of you with your shield." Does that mean as long as you declare an Attack action you can Use the Bonus Action Feat Shield Bash to Shove a creature first? Knocking them prone are pushing them away(pg. 195 PHB) Opposed Strength athletics rolls, then making your Attack roll with advantage against the now prone target? It just says to take the attack action. I am not sure how many other bonus actions read that way?

  2. #2
    LordEntrails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    GMT -7
    Posts
    8,218
    Blog Entries
    9
    IMO in that case you can not take the bonus action until after you have taken the attack action. Note is says "If you take" not "if you declare" or "if you intend"

    So that attack action must have already occurred for the bonus action to be available.

    Current Projects: Ultimate Undermountain (NYDUM)
    Community Contributions: Gemstones, 5E Quick Ref Decal, Adventure Module Creation, Dungeon Trinkets
    DMsGuild Content: Balance Disturbed (Adventure), Dungeon Room Descriptions
    FG Product Reviews: Virtual Scribe Reviews

  3. #3
    Zacchaeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    11,236
    I agree with LE. In this case the bonus action would follow immediately after the attack action. Bonus actions can take place at any point in your turn but where there are conditions such as in this case the bonus must follow on from the action.
    If there is something that you would like to see in Fantasy Grounds that isn't currently part of the software or if there is something you think would improve a ruleset then add your idea to the wish list http://fg2app.idea.informer.com/

  4. #4
    The sage advice pdf has the answer to this question. As with most other conditionals in the game, the trigger completes before the resulting action resolves.

    So, attack (possibly including the extra attacks) then shield bash.

    SA-Compendium.pdf

  5. #5
    Ok Thanks so taking the martial adept and tripping is better for this then.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in