1. #1

    Friends cannot connect

    my buddies cannot connect to me - the port is open and fantasy grounds keeps giving me a faliure for the test
    and it does have full permissions to get past my firewall, any other things to try?

  2. #2
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,027
    Blog Entries
    1
    If you are failing the Connection Test then either the port isnt open or your computer is blocking the connection.
    Start with this thread: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forum...ions-Explained

    MoreCore - Generic Ruleset
    --- Projects ---
    Extensions | Tutorials | MoreCore | MoreCore Themes | Call of Cthulhu | Maelstrom | FG Con

  3. #3
    wondering if there isn't something up with the new version half my players can connect half can't...and the port is open triple checked...but also 2 players connected.

  4. #4
    LordEntrails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    GMT -7
    Posts
    8,402
    Blog Entries
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Kelendros78 View Post
    wondering if there isn't something up with the new version half my players can connect half can't...and the port is open triple checked...but also 2 players connected.
    It's not related to the version of FG. You are probably going to have to give us more details. What errors are you seeing? What is exactly the behavior? Are the players on the same network as you? A different network or...? Are they using the appropriate connection address (internal IP for those on the same network, external IP or Alias for those on an external network)?

    Current Projects: Ultimate Undermountain (NYDUM)
    Community Contributions: Gemstones, 5E Quick Ref Decal, Adventure Module Creation, Dungeon Trinkets
    DMsGuild Content: Balance Disturbed (Adventure), Dungeon Room Descriptions
    FG Product Reviews: Virtual Scribe Reviews

  5. #5
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,027
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Kelendros78 View Post
    wondering if there isn't something up with the new version half my players can connect half can't...and the port is open triple checked...but also 2 players connected.
    Very much sounds like a network issue...
    There are several billion devices connected to the internet. It is not a static thing - its constantly changing, breaking, fixing, moving.
    There may be a transient routing issue between them and you.
    If you get the players that can connect to you to do a tracert to your IP address and compare the last few hops to the players that cannot connect to you.

    MoreCore - Generic Ruleset
    --- Projects ---
    Extensions | Tutorials | MoreCore | MoreCore Themes | Call of Cthulhu | Maelstrom | FG Con

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Isanti, MN
    Posts
    2,822
    Quote Originally Posted by Kelendros78 View Post
    wondering if there isn't something up with the new version half my players can connect half can't...and the port is open triple checked...but also 2 players connected.
    Do you have Ultimate? If not, are the two who can't connect using Demo (their license info may have reset during the update)?

  7. #7
    I have an ultimate liscence and the port is forwarded. the connection test returns a success every time and yet my players still can't all connect

  8. #8
    LordEntrails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    GMT -7
    Posts
    8,402
    Blog Entries
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Kelendros78 View Post
    I have an ultimate liscence and the port is forwarded. the connection test returns a success every time and yet my players still can't all connect
    So some players can connect and some can not? What networks are the players on? Can local players connect and remote players can't? Or the other way around?

    Current Projects: Ultimate Undermountain (NYDUM)
    Community Contributions: Gemstones, 5E Quick Ref Decal, Adventure Module Creation, Dungeon Trinkets
    DMsGuild Content: Balance Disturbed (Adventure), Dungeon Room Descriptions
    FG Product Reviews: Virtual Scribe Reviews

  9. #9
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,027
    Blog Entries
    1
    On the GM Computer please do a "what is my ip address" search on chrome/google.

    Then have each player open a cmd prompt on their computer and type in tracert x.x.x.x where x.x.x.x is your public ip address.

    The first few hops will be different for each player but the last few hops (excluding all the * * * * ones) should be very similar.

    share the results indicating which ones work and which ones dont.

    MoreCore - Generic Ruleset
    --- Projects ---
    Extensions | Tutorials | MoreCore | MoreCore Themes | Call of Cthulhu | Maelstrom | FG Con

  10. #10
    I re copied my liscence into fantasy grounds
    ..and it fixed the issue...unsure why it would as it didn't change.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in