Back our Kickstarter Campaign going on Now
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. #1

    Sudden Connection Issues

    Hi there, sorry to be a bother.

    Just a few days ago, I ran a session of D&D using Fantasy Grounds. It was great, everything worked smoothly.

    Then yesterday it stopped working. I was very confused and upset, and tried googling it. Advice was to check my Connection Test, which turned out to return FAILURE.

    What on earth could have happened to make things change in only a couple days? I've read different threads where the OP mentions being gone for a while, or a long gap between sessions. But for me it was legit a gap of like 4 days.

    I'm not getting anywhere with the solutions I've found in threads, so hopefully one of you guys here can help me out.

  2. #2
    Zacchaeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    10,359
    If it worked before and doesn't now then the most likely cause is that your IP address on your computer has changed and your Port Forward rule is pointing at your old IP address.

    If you had to portt forward then go back into the rule you created and edit it to point at the new IP address of your computer.

    If you didn't have to port forward then try rebooting your router.

    Also check that your Network is still set to private and that you have an exception for FG in your Antivirus. Check also that there aren't multiple rules in your AV (Windows Defender has a habit of doing this). If there are then delete them all and create a new one.
    If there is something that you would like to see in Fantasy Grounds that isn't currently part of the software or if there is something you think would improve a ruleset then add your idea to the wish list http://fg2app.idea.informer.com/

  3. #3
    LordEntrails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    GMT -7
    Posts
    7,194
    Blog Entries
    9
    The most common things are Windows update has set your network connection to public, et it to private (work or home).
    Second most common thing is your router has re-assigned your computer a new internal IP address. If you setup port forwarding, go re-validate that and reboot your router.
    Occasionally, your ISP will have changed your network on their side and may now be congregating your IP or have switched you to IPv6. But that is harder to diagnose.

    If you can't resolve, then take a look at the linked post and reply back here with the results of the 7 questions;
    https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forum...ions-Explained

    EDIT: I may have been nija'd by Mr Z, but at least I beat our AI!

    Current Projects: Ultimate Undermountain (NYDUM)
    Community Contributions: Gemstones, 5E Quick Ref Decal, Adventure Module Creation, Dungeon Trinkets
    DMsGuild Content: Balance Disturbed (Adventure), Dungeon Room Descriptions
    FG Product Reviews: Virtual Scribe Reviews

  4. #4
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA (for a bit)
    Posts
    22,239
    What have you looked at so far?

    Is your network connection on your computer set to Private?
    Have you checked that the IP address of your computer hasn't changed and that the port forwarding rule on your Internet router points to the right IP address?
    Have you checked that TCP port 1802 and FantasyGrounds.exe are allowed in all of your security/anti-virus software?

    What else have you tried?


    FG Product Development status: Pathfinder Playtest Ruleset and add-ons: In development. Pathfinder Bestiary, Pathfinder Bestiary 2, Pathfinder Bestiary 3 (in store).

    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  5. #5
    So in the firewall, I'm creating a "port rule"?
    example.PNG

  6. #6
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA (for a bit)
    Posts
    22,239
    Quote Originally Posted by LordEntrails View Post
    EDIT: I may have been nija'd by Mr Z, but at least I beat our AI!
    Equal on time - you only beat do to alphabetic sorting!


    FG Product Development status: Pathfinder Playtest Ruleset and add-ons: In development. Pathfinder Bestiary, Pathfinder Bestiary 2, Pathfinder Bestiary 3 (in store).

    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  7. #7
    LordEntrails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    GMT -7
    Posts
    7,194
    Blog Entries
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by SilverStud View Post
    So in the firewall, I'm creating a "port rule"?
    example.PNG
    Yes, but if you had not done that before you probably don't need to do it now. First check your connection type, second try rebooting your router.

    Current Projects: Ultimate Undermountain (NYDUM)
    Community Contributions: Gemstones, 5E Quick Ref Decal, Adventure Module Creation, Dungeon Trinkets
    DMsGuild Content: Balance Disturbed (Adventure), Dungeon Room Descriptions
    FG Product Reviews: Virtual Scribe Reviews

  8. #8
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA (for a bit)
    Posts
    22,239
    Also, in case your ISP has made some changes. From a command prompt, run tracert 8.8.8.8 and paste the results here.


    FG Product Development status: Pathfinder Playtest Ruleset and add-ons: In development. Pathfinder Bestiary, Pathfinder Bestiary 2, Pathfinder Bestiary 3 (in store).

    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  9. #9
    Tracing route to google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 9 ms 8 ms 6 ms 10.117.217.1
    3 16 ms 16 ms 16 ms 10.224.253.13
    4 * * * Request timed out.
    5 28 ms 33 ms 28 ms ae-2-3613.edge1.Seattle3.Level3.net [4.69.160.73]
    6 37 ms 27 ms 29 ms 4.68.70.162
    7 26 ms 26 ms 27 ms 108.170.245.97
    8 26 ms 26 ms 27 ms 209.85.254.167
    9 26 ms 29 ms 25 ms google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]

    Trace complete.

  10. #10
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    18,378
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by SilverStud View Post
    Tracing route to google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 9 ms 8 ms 6 ms 10.117.217.1
    3 16 ms 16 ms 16 ms 10.224.253.13
    4 * * * Request timed out.
    5 28 ms 33 ms 28 ms ae-2-3613.edge1.Seattle3.Level3.net [4.69.160.73]
    6 37 ms 27 ms 29 ms 4.68.70.162
    7 26 ms 26 ms 27 ms 108.170.245.97
    8 26 ms 26 ms 27 ms 209.85.254.167
    9 26 ms 29 ms 25 ms google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]

    Trace complete.
    Hops 2 and 3 are problematic and may point to what Trenloe suggests.
    Hoever please confirm that you have checked your Network Adapter is set to a Private Profile and that you have rebooted the Router.

    MoreCore - Generic Ruleset
    --- Projects ---
    Extensions | Tutorials | MoreCore | MoreCore Themes | Call of Cthulhu | Maelstrom | FG Con

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in