Back our Kickstarter Campaign going on Now
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. #1

    Boxing or Shaded Boxing?

    <SOLVED>

    I don't recall - at a glance before I head off to sleep now - I checked 5E and AD&D via spot check and didn't see any class windows that used this and I recall heavy PHB use of shaded boxes/breakouts/notes in 5E physical.

    It was the last thing I did on Assassins so I just used <table> for now. Any tips on sidebar type stuff for non reference book portions?

    Screen Shot 2019-04-14 at 3.13.31 AM.png
    Last edited by Varsuuk; April 17th, 2019 at 14:02.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,630
    Blog Entries
    7
    That's exactly how I do non-refpage sidebars as well.

  3. #3
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA (for a bit)
    Posts
    22,210
    You can’t have any graphics within a story entry, as this is a single formattedtext control. You’re limited to what is available in that control. Info here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/refdo...extcontrol.xcp

    One table cell is a nice way to split things out! :-)


    FG Product Development status: Pathfinder Playtest Ruleset and add-ons: In development. Pathfinder Bestiary, Pathfinder Bestiary 2, Pathfinder Bestiary 3 (in store).

    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  4. #4
    Cool just wanted to check before got too far ahead using the table way. Thanks

  5. #5
    I tried to insert a line break via <p> pair then <br/> & of course the hopeless \n.

    If I use the box method, we can only have a single "line" or will have to make several rows which means it won't be only an "outline" box but instead will have lines per row. Any way around this?

  6. #6
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    18,365
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Varsuuk View Post
    I tried to insert a line break via <p> pair then <br/> & of course the hopeless \n.

    If I use the box method, we can only have a single "line" or will have to make several rows which means it won't be only an "outline" box but instead will have lines per row. Any way around this?
    You can edit the XML and add

    MoreCore - Generic Ruleset
    --- Projects ---
    Extensions | Tutorials | MoreCore | MoreCore Themes | Call of Cthulhu | Maelstrom | FG Con

  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,630
    Blog Entries
    7
    Use two ASCII 13's to fake a paragraph break, same as you would in a <frame>.

  8. #8
    EDIT: Worked like charm!

    I originally forgot can't "/refresh" to access changes, need to close/open my module again (it's in a PHB type mod) thanks again!
    (also, I used a single CR, if I put 2, it looked like too much space between lines)

    Any tips on making it look neater? If you notice the first line in the box is indented less from the box margin.


    Screen Shot 2019-04-16 at 2.24.46 AM.png

    Code:
    ...
    					<text type="formattedtext">
    						<h>Assassin</h>
    						<link type="windowreference" class="imagewindow" recordname="[email protected] PHB Deluxe"><b>Image:</b>Assassin</link>
    						<p>Assassins are a rare sub-class of Thieves; they are trained killers, [SNIP]  turn the tide in a desperate combat.</p>
    						<table><tr><td>
    						<b>Prime Attributes:</b>Dexterity, Strength, and Intelligence all 13+ (+5% experience bonus)
    						<b>Hit Dice: </b>1d6/level (Gains 1hp/level after 9th.)
    						<b>Armor/Shield Permitted: </b>Leather armor only, shield permitted.
    						<b>Weapons Permitted: </b>Any.
    						<b>Race: </b>Only humans may be Assassins.
    						</td></tr></table>
    						<p></p>
    						<h>About Assassins</h>
    						<p><b>Alignment:</b> Assassins must be of Neutral or Chaotic alignment. In the Original Game, Assassins[SNIP] later in the book).</p>
    						<h>Table 7: Assassin Advancement Table</h>
    							<table>
    								<tr decoration="underline">
    									<td><b>Level</b></td>
    									<td><b>Experience Points Required for Level</b></td>
    									<td><b>Hit Dice (d6)**</b></td>
    									<td><b>Saving Throw</b></td>
    								</tr>
    								<tr><td>1</td><td>0</td><td>1</td><td>15</td></tr>
    ...

    If I add extra CR after first line, it separates the one that is more left justified which might be interpreted as an "intentional" primacy, but I think the first one with the indent is less "jaring" - if no one knows a way to make it look even, what way would you suggest to go?

    Screen Shot 2019-04-16 at 2.39.29 AM.png
    Last edited by Varsuuk; April 16th, 2019 at 07:41.

  9. #9
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    18,365
    Blog Entries
    1
    In the xml use
    & # ! # : & # ! # ;

    MoreCore - Generic Ruleset
    --- Projects ---
    Extensions | Tutorials | MoreCore | MoreCore Themes | Call of Cthulhu | Maelstrom | FG Con

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    1,630
    Blog Entries
    7
    Ok, first the reason why this happens, according to @Moon Wizard, is because Fantasy Grounds' implementation of XML does not have CDATA. If you know what that means, you're one up on me. Bottom line is that because of this, MW says FG will automatically place a space character at the point styling (bold, italic, underline) is used. To get around that, you must place the ASCII 13 inside the next line's style tags.

    (by the way if someone knows how to escape these ASCII codes within BBCODE, please post it because this drives me up a damn wall trying to fake it)

    Code:
    <p><b>Prime Attributes:</b> text here<b>ASCII_13;Hit Dice:</b> text here</p>
    Essentially, you're starting the style on the previous line so when FG places its space, you never see it.
    Last edited by Talyn; April 16th, 2019 at 14:02.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in