Page 25 of 28 First ... 152324252627 ... Last
  1. #241
    Please, help me to get success in test and to successfully host the games

    1. Internal 192.168.50.40 External 5.18.103.208
    2. Router WAN IP: 10.218.4.6
    3. Wired
    4. Adapter is private
    5. No AV
    6. Tracing route to dns.google [8.8.8.8] a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router.asus.com [192.168.50.1]
    2 4 ms 3 ms 2 ms 172.31.254.62
    3 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 5x18x6x245.static-business.spb.ertelecom.ru [5.18.6.245]
    4 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms net131.234.188-158.ertelecom.ru [188.234.131.158]
    5 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms net131.234.188-159.ertelecom.ru [188.234.131.159]
    6 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms 74.125.244.132
    7 31 ms 49 ms 14 ms 216.239.51.249
    8 16 ms 15 ms 15 ms 72.14.233.201
    9 6 ms 6 ms 6 ms 216.239.54.50
    10 * * * Request timed out.
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 * * * Request timed out.
    13 * * * Request timed out.
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 6 ms 6 ms 6 ms dns.google [8.8.8.8]
    Trace complete.

    7. There are two port forwarding rules in router settings:
    fantasy grounds | external port 1802 | internal port 1802 | internal ip 192.168.50.40 | protocol TCP
    fantasy grounds | external port 3074 | internal port 3074 | internal ip 192.168.50.40 | protocol UDP

    In windows firewall I have some rules:
    1. Open TCP 1802 for all
    2. Open UDP 3074 for all
    3. Allow FantasyGrounds.exe inbound connections
    Last edited by Lokiz; January 21st, 2020 at 19:53.

  2. #242
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, UK (for a bit)
    Posts
    24,612
    Quote Originally Posted by Lokiz View Post
    6. Tracing route to dns.google [8.8.8.8] a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router.asus.com [192.168.50.1]
    2 4 ms 3 ms 2 ms 172.31.254.62
    3 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 5x18x6x245.static-business.spb.ertelecom.ru [5.18.6.245]

    This second hop is an internal IP address - so it suggests that either you have two devices in your connection architecture or your ISP is sharing public IP addresses between their customers - which is common practice now as there aren't enough IPv4 addresses to go around.

    If you don't have 2 devices in your Internet connection setup then you have a couple of options:
    1) Ask your ISP to give you your own public IP address (this may cost you) or to enable TCP port 1802 forwarding within their setup.
    2) Use one of these alternatives: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forum...d-Alternatives
    FG Con 16 Fantasy Grounds Online RPG Convention - Friday April 24th to Sunday April 26th, 2020
    Register at www.fg-con.com for all the latest info.

    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  3. #243
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,536
    Blog Entries
    1
    Comcast and Xfinity users - your ISP is "protecting" you and blocking incoming connections on your Port Forwards.
    https://www.xfinity.com/support/arti...anced-security
    You will need to go in and unblock the FG server AND your players every 30days.

    MoreCore - Generic Ruleset
    --- Projects ---
    Extensions | Tutorials | MoreCore | MoreCore Themes | Call of Cthulhu | Maelstrom | FG Con

  4. #244
    Can host FG normally on one computer in my family's network (with incoming connections from all over the world) but not two others. Here's the information for one of them:

    * Internal address info: 192.168.1.104
    * External address info: 118.161.179.239
    * Wired.
    * Computer is using Windows 7 Professional, so Network is set to "Home Network" in settings. (I've also used secpol.msc to manually set it to private.)
    * Norton 360, with traffic rule: "Allow, Direction: In/Out, Computer: Any, Communications: Specific, Protocol: TCP"
    * tracert 8.8.8.8:
    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 4 ms 4 ms 4 ms h254.s98.ts.hinet.net [168.95.98.254]
    3 4 ms 4 ms 3 ms clpy-3302.hinet.net [168.95.105.2]
    4 6 ms 5 ms 5 ms tylc-3032.hinet.net [220.128.9.218]
    5 6 ms 5 ms 5 ms tyfo-3031.hinet.net [220.128.8.194]
    6 5 ms 5 ms 5 ms pcpd-3211.hinet.net [220.128.12.45]
    7 7 ms 6 ms 6 ms 72.14.218.142
    8 5 ms 5 ms 5 ms 172.253.64.123
    9 6 ms 6 ms 5 ms 72.14.237.231
    10 5 ms 5 ms 6 ms dns.google [8.8.8.8]

    * Router rules:
    Fantasy Grounds 1802 1802 TCP 1802 1802 192.168.1.104 ppp0.3
    Fantasy Grounds 1802 1802 TCP 1802 1802 118.161.179.239 ppp0.3
    * Fantasy Grounds is allowed to connect through Windows firewall on Private and Public networks.

  5. #245
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, UK (for a bit)
    Posts
    24,612
    Quote Originally Posted by Senlia View Post
    Can host FG normally on one computer in my family's network (with incoming connections from all over the world) but not two others.
    Welcome to the FG forums Senlia!

    You can only specifically host on one GM computer within your family's network. This is due to port forwarding only works to one specific computer - you can't have multiple port forwards active at the same time - your "router rules" in the info you have provided.

    Note that this port forwarding is only needed for the GM, not for the player. Do you need multiple different GM computers in your family's network? That is, will there be GMs running FG games on different computers?
    FG Con 16 Fantasy Grounds Online RPG Convention - Friday April 24th to Sunday April 26th, 2020
    Register at www.fg-con.com for all the latest info.

    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  6. #246
    Quote Originally Posted by Trenloe View Post
    Welcome to the FG forums Senlia!

    You can only specifically host on one GM computer within your family's network. This is due to port forwarding only works to one specific computer - you can't have multiple port forwards active at the same time - your "router rules" in the info you have provided.

    Note that this port forwarding is only needed for the GM, not for the player. Do you need multiple different GM computers in your family's network? That is, will there be GMs running FG games on different computers?
    Thanks for the quick response. I'm ultimately trying to figure out why my wife's computer (this account) can't connect to my FG session on my laptop. So far, the only thing that's consistently different between the two computers is that I can successfully connect to the FG servers on my laptop to host, whereas I can't host or connect to anything on the desktop (this account).

  7. #247
    Zacchaeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    11,860
    If you are all on the same network then you connect to the host using the host's internal IP address - not the external address or alias.

    As Trenloe points out you can only have one Port Forward rule at a time. So if you need to host on two computers you'll need to swap the rule so that it is pointing at the correct computer when you are hosting on that one.
    If there is something that you would like to see in Fantasy Grounds that isn't currently part of the software or if there is something you think would improve a ruleset then add your idea to the wish list http://fg2app.idea.informer.com/

  8. #248
    I think the multiple open port rules on the modem was confusing things. I corrected that, and then connected via internal IP. Success! Thank you for the quick help again.

  9. #249
    Hi all,

    New install here and can't get a successful connection test.

    I did have to set a static IP on my PC (outside my DHCP pool).
    I also changed my network type to private (not sure why it was set to public)
    I can access fantasygrounds.com
    I've checked Windows firewall and it has an exception entered for Fantasy Grounds
    I have an Arris BGW210 router through AT&T and I've setup port forwarding and set it to my static IP (system uses a drop-down of available devices so know I didn't mistype anything)

    Not sure what else to try.

    Here is the info requested:
    1. 192.168.1.13
    2. 45.18
    3. wired
    4. private
    5. Avast (free, no firewall) turned off AV to test and still can't connect
    6.
    Tracing route to dns.google [8.8.8.8]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms dsldevice.attlocal.net [192.168.1.254]
    2 2 ms 18 ms 9 ms 45-18-32-1.lightspeed.rlghnc.sbcglobal.net [45.18.32.1]
    3 * * * Request timed out.
    4 12 ms 12 ms 13 ms 12.123.152.74
    5 17 ms 15 ms 15 ms attga21crs.ip.att.net [12.122.2.161]
    6 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms gar1.nsvtn.ip.att.net [12.122.96.85]
    7 11 ms 13 ms 10 ms 12.255.10.4
    8 11 ms 11 ms 12 ms 108.170.249.33
    9 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 108.170.225.105
    10 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms dns.google [8.8.8.8]

    Trace complete.
    7. Arris BGW210 router through AT&T and I've setup port forwarding for TCP 1802 and set it to my static IP

  10. #250
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,536
    Blog Entries
    1
    All of that looks ok.
    Do you have another computer that you can install FG on and try to connect to your main PC with?
    Use the 192.168.1.13 address for the server name/alias.

    MoreCore - Generic Ruleset
    --- Projects ---
    Extensions | Tutorials | MoreCore | MoreCore Themes | Call of Cthulhu | Maelstrom | FG Con

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 6 users browsing this thread. (1 members and 5 guests)

  1. MrWoolff

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in