1. #1

    Critical hit and confirm

    Hello, maybe i do something wrong, but when i roll a natural 20 i would normally need to confirm the critical.
    In fantasy grounds it's says i scored a critical with the natural 20 alone.
    So when i roll again to confirm the critical, it's just seeing this as a new attack roll, and if i then apply damage, it doesn't apply the critical hit damage.

    What am i doing wrong here?

  2. #2
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19,348
    Blog Entries
    1
    "When you make an attack roll and get a natural 20 (the d20 comes up 20), you hit regardless of your target's AC. If the total result of your attack roll meets or exceeds the target's EAC or KAC (as appropriate for your attack), you've also scored a critical hit...... If the total result of your attack is less than your target's relevant AC, your attack still hits on a natural 20, but it deals damage normally."

    a 20 is a critical hit if it would also have been a hit.

    MoreCore - Generic Ruleset
    --- Projects ---
    Extensions | Tutorials | MoreCore | MoreCore Themes | Call of Cthulhu | Maelstrom | FG Con

  3. #3
    Oh ok, that changed from pathfinder

  4. #4
    Samarex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    889
    Quote Originally Posted by KillerRabbit View Post
    Hello, maybe i do something wrong, but when i roll a natural 20 i would normally need to confirm the critical.
    In fantasy grounds it's says i scored a critical with the natural 20 alone.
    So when i roll again to confirm the critical, it's just seeing this as a new attack roll, and if i then apply damage, it doesn't apply the critical hit damage.

    What am i doing wrong here?
    Quote Originally Posted by damned View Post
    "When you make an attack roll and get a natural 20 (the d20 comes up 20), you hit regardless of your target's AC. If the total result of your attack roll meets or exceeds the target's EAC or KAC (as appropriate for your attack), you've also scored a critical hit...... If the total result of your attack is less than your target's relevant AC, your attack still hits on a natural 20, but it deals damage normally."

    a 20 is a critical hit if it would also have been a hit.
    Damned has it correct.
    The rule set is designed so if you roll a natural 20 it will look at the total roll vs the Targets Def value (EAC KAC ) and determine if it is a Critical Hit or a Automatic Hit.
    So if the total is less than the relevant AC it will report a Automatic hit and roll Normal Damage other wise it will report a Critical hit and Damage will be Critical damage.

    In your report because you rolled again to try and confirm, your critical hit was erased since the system seen it as a new attack.
    Last edited by Samarex; August 13th, 2018 at 02:22.
    Russell Campbell
    FG Product Development Projects Link


    Discord User : Samarex#0318
    Ultimate License
    Starfinder Society ID#:274538
    Lets Play a RPG

  5. #5
    Thanks. I was confused because of many years playng pathfinder

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in