STAR TREK 2d20
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Out of the Abyss Token placement

Hello, I'm new to Fantasy Grounds. I purchased and activated the OotA module. I had thought that the encounter and trap tokens would have been pre-placed on the maps, but for me it's not so. Should these tokens already be placed on the maps for the various encounters or is it all manual placement? Thanks.

Blog Entries
    Welcome lordsoth3

You may be coming from a different VTT with a different way of doing things.
    In Fantasy Grounds these tokens are stored in Encounters.

Have a look at some of Zacchaeus excellent videos https://www.youtube.com/user/Zacchaeus55/videos
    also see encounters here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/wiki/...php/Encounters

I would stop what you are currently doing and try the 5e Demo Campaign - it will walk you thru some of these things.

Yeah, that's what I've been doing, however, the demo campaign has the token's pre-placed as indicated by checkmarks in the encounters window. This is the same I expected from the OOTA module, but within that module, they are all the icons and I have to manually place them.

Blog Entries
    It depend of the adventure, they often are placed already when you explore a dungeon or something, but many of the encounter in OotA it depend of the players placement. Which is probably why you have to manually place them. But you can open the encouter, drag them to the map from the encounter window and when you drag the encounter to the combat tracker later it will remember where you put them.

Blog Entries
    Hi lordsoth3 I dont have OotA but Id be very surprised if that were the case. Can you post a screenshot? Are you working from the Player Maps?

If OotA is a big sandbox what SirGraystone says is worth checking out. Some might be placed and some might depend on where they encounter each other.