Starfinder Playlist

Character Sheet and DM Approval

This is probably a simple question. If I am running a campaign, how am I able to approve/disapprove a player's character? For instance, if I pick up a new player and he has a fighter with a 25 STR at level 1 or somehting insane, is there any recourse short of kicking him? I am totally new to the software, so I appreciate any help. Thanks in advance

Quote Originally Posted by eriadoc
    This is probably a simple question. If I am running a campaign, how am I able to approve/disapprove a player's character? For instance, if I pick up a new player and he has a fighter with a 25 STR at level 1 or somehting insane, is there any recourse short of kicking him? I am totally new to the software, so I appreciate any help. Thanks in advance
    Your best course of action would be to clearly state your character creation guidelines such as: starting level, starting gold, ability generation method, rule books used. If you decide on any methods that require rolling, have a blanket policy that all players roll the dice in front of you (you may have to have a rolling session before the game starts to allow players to get that part done before fleshing out the rest of their character).

If a player has broken your generation rules ask them about it. When dealing with someone you haven't had experience with before always give them the benefit of the doubt first. They likely made an honest mistake.

If you can't resolve the conflict then just tell the player that they're not going to find what they're looking for in your game, and wish them better luck somewhere else.

All of this really hinges on you clearly defining how you expect your players to create their characters right up front. If you don't do that... well... good luck

As for the software doing some sort of character validation like Neverwinter Nights? No. That task is left to you.