5E Product Walkthrough Playlist
Page 1 of 3 123 Last

Frequent, disruptive crashes

So as a developer I realize this is a huge vague problem and you need details, but not sure what details would be helpful...

I am hosting a weekly game on an Ultimate version on a Mac.

All my players are on the demo version, all on PCs except for one, (we have 7 total)

Invariably ... every week ... we'll have 1-3 players who have to shut down, quit process, or otherwise restart their game before they are able to:

A) Connect at all: the server says Soandso connecting ... Soandso dropped over and over... (this while others have connected just fine)
    B) View a map: I share a map and some players see it and it loads just fine, others get the "Image of Doom" where they get all kinds of loading errors and have to restart the app.
    C) Get their game to stop crashing: Sometimes instead of just B, they get the "Superior Image of Doom" The description for that item is: "Once per long rest causes you to no longer be able to connect to the server, or in the odd case that you do, cause the image to crash your game. The only solution to this is to roll a DC 15 Intelligence saving throw, and blow away your game cache"

Lets see, what else...
    We're playing D&D 5e and I have all the primary books (though not all adventures) but the content we're running is custom.

I wouldn't know what else would be relevant.

Blog Entries
    My best guess would be you have too many images/tokens shared, or your map files are too big. We had a game in which the GM FG kept crashing when everyones was logging, to learn that one of the player was trying to use an image for his token that was 1.6 MB.

99% of the times this will be caused by the FG instance using too much memory - usually due to too much being shared with the players.

1) FG is a 32-bit application, so it is limited to the memory it can use. You'll start having issues (errors and crashes) above 3GB of memory use.