STAR TREK 2d20
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

The Riddle of Steel, Ars Magica, or Burning Wheel?

I'm considering running a game, and wanted to find out if anyone had any interest in any of the three game systems listed above.

Of the three, I weigh towards The Riddle of Steel the most because it gives equal credit to spellcasters and warriors, and is what might be termed a blood opera, in that it focuses on the needs, drives, and passions of the characters, but can be very bloody. The only problem is that it has a bit of a steep learning curve.

I don't know Burning Wheel well yet, but I'm learning it, and I've been told that if I like TROS, I'd like BW as well... but as before, I'm still learning it.

As for Ars Magica? Its a great game, but its a bit hyperfocused, which can be good or bad.

If there is no interest in any of these, I will probably end up running some kind of D20 game, but if so, I'll be combining elements of the Black Company Campaign book, Iron Heroes, Arcana Evolved, Midnight, Conan d20, Iron Kingdoms, etc etc into something different. Basically, I like elements of several of these books, but I felt each one was lacking, so I'm kinda hybridizing them.

But only if I can't get a game in one of the above systems going

I take it by the deafening silence that there isn't any interest, eh?

Guess I'll have to do some kinda d20 stuff then... sigh.... heh

Which version of Ars Magica? Ars Magica "is like the greatest game I've never played." I think we've started three campaigns that never made it past chargen or initial setup. I built a complicated set of perl scripts to run a coven for an online campaign once. That one didn't make it either 8).