DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. #1

    Players Unable to Connect / Connection Test Failure

    Hi everyone. I've been using Fantasy Grounds for almost a year now, and since the recent patch (3.3.2), my players have been unable to connect to my game. I previously did not have port forwarding, and there weren't any issues.

    I have tried port forwarding port 1802, but with no success. I have also tested connecting locally, which does work (same computer + another computer on network). I have also tried adding the exception through the Windows Firewall, and it didn't make any changes. I don't have a DMZ setup, so there shouldn't be any issues with that. I also do not have Hamachi installed.

    What would my next best bet be? I have checked other threads on the issue (past and somewhat recent), but haven't been able to find a solution. Any advice is welcome.

  2. #2
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,676
    A first thing to check is that the alias is mapping to your external IP address. I've seen this reported a couple of times recently and it happened to me a couple of nights ago.

    1) On the Load Campaign screen the GM should check what the alias is and the external IP address (click in the field to get it)- record these values. Then start up the campaign.
    2) A player should try to join, then when they fail, click the folder icon in the top right to open up a file explorer in the FG app data directory and open console.log they should see the alias being resolved to your external IP address. If this is a different IP address than the GMs external IP address then generate a new alias and ask the players to connect with that new alias - check it is resolving to the correct external IP address.
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  3. #3
    Usually, when the network is working and immediately stops after an update, it's usually because the security software on your machine is blocking network access for the main application file (FantasyGrounds.exe). You should also double-check the IP address for the router port forwarding, but it sounds like you did that already.

    Regards,
    JPG

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Trenloe View Post
    A first thing to check is that the alias is mapping to your external IP address. I've seen this reported a couple of times recently and it happened to me a couple of nights ago.

    1) On the Load Campaign screen the GM should check what the alias is and the external IP address (click in the field to get it)- record these values. Then start up the campaign.
    2) A player should try to join, then when they fail, click the folder icon in the top right to open up a file explorer in the FG app data directory and open console.log they should see the alias being resolved to your external IP address. If this is a different IP address than the GMs external IP address then generate a new alias and ask the players to connect with that new alias - check it is resolving to the correct external IP address.
    Hi Trenloe,

    Thanks for your response. I had one of my players test it, and he got the following log:
    [25.09.2017 22:24:06] Runtime Notice: Initializing DirectX
    [25.09.2017 22:24:06] Runtime Notice: Initializing COM
    [25.09.2017 22:24:08] Runtime Notice: Fantasy Grounds starting
    [25.09.2017 22:24:19] Runtime Notice: User 'D' attempting connection to '67.244.93.162:1802'
    [25.09.2017 22:24:41] Network Notice: Client unable to connect to host - Could not connect to the host. Check your network settings and verify the host address, then try again.
    [25.09.2017 22:25:03] Runtime Notice: Resolving alias
    [25.09.2017 22:25:04] Runtime Notice: Alias translate result = 67.244.93.162
    [25.09.2017 22:25:04] Runtime Notice: User 'D' attempting connection to '67.244.93.162:1802' using alias 'vibrant ninja vast goblin'
    [25.09.2017 22:25:25] Network Notice: Client unable to connect to host - Could not connect to the host. Check your network settings and verify the host address, then try again.

    I can confirm that the external IP address is the correct one, and the alias translation matches. This is using a new alias (did a reset before asking him to test).
    Last edited by Xevach; September 25th, 2017 at 23:35. Reason: Adding quote that I'm responding to.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Moon Wizard View Post
    Usually, when the network is working and immediately stops after an update, it's usually because the security software on your machine is blocking network access for the main application file (FantasyGrounds.exe). You should also double-check the IP address for the router port forwarding, but it sounds like you did that already.

    Regards,
    JPG
    Hi JPG,

    Thank you for your response. I double-checked the IP address for the router port forwarding, and it does match the one I currently have assigned (192.168.7.117). I also had previously tried it using a different internal IP address (192.168.7.144), but still ran into the same issue.
    Last edited by Xevach; September 25th, 2017 at 23:36. Reason: Added quote I'm responding to.

  6. #6
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,676
    Please do the following from a command prompt and post the results here: tracert 8.8.8.8
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Trenloe View Post
    Please do the following from a command prompt and post the results here: tracert 8.8.8.8
    The results I got were the following:
    Tracing route to google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.7.7
    2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    3 15 ms 28 ms 21 ms 142.254.165.153
    4 12 ms 12 ms 14 ms be60.wdsdny0201h.nyc.rr.com [68.173.201.100]
    5 17 ms 28 ms 92 ms agg108.nyclnyrg01r.nyc.rr.com [68.173.198.88]
    6 18 ms 15 ms 15 ms bu-ether29.nwrknjmd67w-bcr00.tbone.rr.com [107.14.19.24]
    7 31 ms 106 ms 20 ms bu-ether12.nycmny837aw-bcr00.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.27]
    8 15 ms 14 ms 33 ms 0.ae0.pr0.nyc20.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.157]
    9 60 ms 13 ms 15 ms ix-ae-10-0.tcore1.N75-New-York.as6453.net [66.110.96.13]
    10 14 ms 15 ms 19 ms 72.14.195.232
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 13 ms 16 ms 12 ms 209.85.243.31
    13 14 ms 16 ms 16 ms google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]

    Trace complete.

  8. #8
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,676
    Quote Originally Posted by Xevach View Post
    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.7.7
    2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    ...
    This looks like there are two devices on your network - maybe a modem/router and then a WiFi router?

    In this case, any port forwarding needs to be done on both routers - 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.7.7.

    1) On 192.168.0.1 forward TCP port 1802 to the 192.168.0.XX IP address of the second router, XX may be 02 or something else - check on the router itself.

    2) On 192.168.7.7 forward TCP port 1802 to the GM computer: 192.168.7.117 (I think you have already done that).
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Trenloe View Post
    This looks like there are two devices on your network - maybe a modem/router and then a WiFi router?

    In this case, any port forwarding needs to be done on both routers - 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.7.7.

    1) On 192.168.0.1 forward TCP port 1802 to the 192.168.0.XX IP address of the second router, XX may be 02 or something else - check on the router itself.

    2) On 192.168.7.7 forward TCP port 1802 to the GM computer: 192.168.7.117 (I think you have already done that).
    I set up the port forwarding so that 192.168.0.1 (modem/router combo) forwards TCP to port 1802 for 192.168.7.7 (router), and 192.168.7.7 forwards TCP to port 1802 for 192.168.7.117 (desktop).

    When I ran the connection test again, I still get the failure message. I also had a player test the connection, but he could not connect. To verify, I did check out https://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/ and it says the port is closed.

  10. #10
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,676
    Quote Originally Posted by Xevach View Post
    I set up the port forwarding so that 192.168.0.1 (modem/router combo) forwards TCP to port 1802 for 192.168.7.7 (router)...
    This probably won't work as 192.168.0.1 won't be able to access 192.168.7.XX network.

    Try and find out, on the 192.168.0.1 router, what the IP address of the second router is - maybe from attached devices or something similar. It should have an IP address in the range 192.168.0.XX as it needs to connect directly to 192.168.0.1.
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Fantasy Grounds Merchandise

Log in

Log in