DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. #1

    Fantasy Grounds crashes

    I'm not sure if any one is having the same problem as me but my fantasy grouds crashed periodicly. the first few times it happened i was opening books and it would tell me bad alocation and would immediatly close the program. the next few times it wouldnt close right out of fantasy grounds but would go into not responding. now lately the in game chat all of a suden "clears" itsself and 10 seccond later fantasy grounds goes into not responding mode and crashes. I have tried uninstalling and re-installing as well as clearing my cashes. Side note: at one point it threw a DD8DX (or something close to that i closed it before reading it fully) error code. any suggestions would be awesome.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Isanti, MN
    Posts
    2,922
    Sounds like you have too much open and are running out of memory. BTW, clearing the cache is only for your player instances, not your host instances.

  3. #3
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,593
    Run Windows Task Manager and look at the memory use of FantasyGrounds.exe. If it gets above 3GB then close some modules, as it is using too much memory. FG is a 32-bit application and so can only use a maximum of just below 4GB of RAM, even if your computer has much more. You'll start having problems soon after the memory use goes above 3GB, so keep it below this. Main causes of large memory use are:
    - lots of tokens. check in your tokens directory to see how many tokens you have.
    - large images - the larger resolution images are the more memory FG needs to use them. The recommendation is to keep images to a maximum resolution of 2048x2048.
    - opening a lot of library modules. Each open module uses memory, the larger the module the more memory it uses. This is even worse on the player side as this immediately loads the resources when a module is opened.
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  4. #4
    it only happens when i am a player not a host so damn one down. also it only lets me open 1 maybe 2 books before it crashed and i don't own any tokens besides the ones provided. i have not check my usage at this point on task manager but i play again in 2 days and will be sure to do so.

  5. #5
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,593
    Is your operating system 32- or 64-bit?
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Isanti, MN
    Posts
    2,922
    Which books are you opening as a player? Is the GM giving you access to GM reference materials? That will sometimes cause crashes as well.

  7. #7
    not sure what version im running 32-64 i havent adjusted it ever. also the books i were opening were not DM material. currently it crashed opening the PHB but previously it was crashing opeing UA and 5th ED feats.

  8. #8
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,593
    What operating system are you using? Info on checking this here: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...erating-system

    When you're using FG run Windows Task Manager and look at the memory use of FantasyGrounds.exe
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  9. #9
    LordEntrails's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    -7 UTC
    Posts
    17,471
    Blog Entries
    9
    It also might be dependent upon what info your GM has shared with you.

    For instance,if you are the only player running Windows 32 bit, then you will encounter problems before other players using Windows 64 bit.

    Problems? See; How to Report Issues, Bugs & Problems
    On Licensing & Distributing Community Content
    Community Contributions: Gemstones, 5E Quick Ref Decal, Adventure Module Creation, Dungeon Trinkets, Balance Disturbed, Dungeon Room Descriptions
    Note, I am not a SmiteWorks employee or representative, I'm just a user like you.

  10. #10
    ok finally got time to mess with this, my operating system is 64 bit but my FG is 32 bit, also FG is taking up 800-900 MB of memory. I recently got to play the same campaign (ziped and emiled to a diffent DM) on a differnt DM's table and every thing work perfect. but now players on my table are having the same issues i was having on other tables.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Starfinder Playlist

Log in

Log in