Dungeons & Dragons 2024 Core Rulebooks Pre-Order
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Force Critical Damage

Hi All,

Last night at the end of our session my characters leveled and one of the received an ability that delivers critical damage on any hit. I can't recall what it was called right now and it is more detailed than that, I believe the enemy must be surprised. Anyway I'm not very good with making effects, if I can't drag it out of the PHB and have it work or make an easy tweak I handled it manually.

While I believe I could handle this easily manually, just have the player roll the appropriate damage dice after the automatic damage roll and adjust in the combat tracker. I was wondering if there is some effect I could apply before they roll damage to force a crit damage roll. Ideally a button like we have for advantage / disadvantage would be great but clearly that doesn't exists.

Thanks

They can either hold Shift down when draggin the damage, or they can make a separate weapon line called <insert weapon name here> with critical, and double the damage.

Edit: Couldn't remember if it was Ctrl or Shift
    Last edited by Nylanfs; August 3rd, 2017 at 22:47.

Blog Entries
    As a general rule, holding down shift while rolling damage makes it a critical.
    Ultimate License. Running Hyperborea and CoC. Asks lots of questions. Mgpotter.com. PureVPN is a tested solution to run games when traveling. https://billing.purevpn.com/aff.php?aff=33044

And clicking the "Critical" button in the Modifiers window before rolling damage.

You probably don't want to make it a weapon entry with double damage, because you'll then get x4 damage when they roll a 20.
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!