DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 1 of 4 123 ... Last

Hitting an expense wall in FG

IMPORTANT EDIT: I didn't have the 5e SRD open in my library, and thought it didn't include all 12 SRD classes. So until about page 3 of this thread I was writing with some very bad misunderstanding. This completely nullifies this entire thread which should be locked or ignored from now on. THANK you to the community for helping me understand my mistake.

Many years ago I bought a standard licence of Fantasy Grounds for use at the tabletop. I had never ran an online game. Now, I want to use it online after being away from it for so long, and I thought I would share my impressions.

I am basically a salesman for 4 players to pay a reasonable $4/mo for a subscription. That's a reasonable price they shouldn't complain about, and I believe in the value of what I'm selling them. The problem I faced was that the demo they downloaded to at least write up a character with doesn't include all they need to do so with the features that make Fantasy Grounds so great. I was under the assumption that they would be able to drag over backgrounds, classes, etc. and see if they like the program enough to where they would be more open to the $4 subscription is worth it due to the great convenience that FG offers. My players and I come from 3.5e, and making new characters in 5e is new to us. I had set an expectation to them that they were going to be able to roll up a character virtually with the included 5e SRD in a drag and drop way that would be easier than me guiding them through in person with books. I had set an incorrect expectation.