DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    East Coast USA.
    Posts
    957

    Exporting modifiers from Old Gurps Ruleset - problem

    Can modifiers created in the old Gurps Ruleset be exported for use with the New ruleset?

    I have been trying,

    1) /export,

    2) Name, (I gave it a name)

    3) File name (I gave it a filename = the same as above)

    4) Author (put in my name

    5) Index Group (not sure what to do here - didn't touch it)

    6) Merge ID (same as above)

    7) Thumbnail (optional - left it blank)

    8) Checked Modifiers, clicked on the circle under H (host).

    Result = FG reports the export as successful. A .mod file is created in the modules folder. When I open up the new ruleset, I don't see the newly exported modifiers file when I try to load in modules.

    Is there something I am missing?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    902
    The steps you are using are fine, however the export created can't be seen as there are elements within the mod's xml which restrict it to the old ruleset. You will have to make some modifications to this xml.

    Edit the definition.xml file contained within the mod file.

    It needs to look like the example below. The bold sections are important:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
    <root release="4|CoreRPG:3" version="3.2">
        <name>GURPS Modifiers</name>
        <category>Modifiers</category>
        <author>Put your name here</author>
        <ruleset>GURPS</ruleset>
    </root>
    Timezone: Australian EST (GMT +10).
    Systems/Rulesets: GURPS 4th Edition.
    Campaigns (Ultimate License Holder)
    GURPS Traveller - The Empty Peace
    GURPS Shadowrun - Power Plays
    GURPS Banestorm - Dark Clouds Rising

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    East Coast USA.
    Posts
    957
    Quote Originally Posted by ronnke View Post
    The steps you are using are fine, however the export created can't be seen as there are elements within the mod's xml which restrict it to the old ruleset. You will have to make some modifications to this xml.

    Edit the definition.xml file contained within the mod file.

    It needs to look like the example below. The bold sections are important:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
    <root release="4|CoreRPG:3" version="3.2">
        <name>GURPS Modifiers</name>
        <category>Modifiers</category>
        <author>Put your name here</author>
        <ruleset>GURPS</ruleset>
    </root>
    Thank you sir! I had tried to open up the .xml file and modify the ruleset name, but missed the other elements, particularly the version numbers etc.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    East Coast USA.
    Posts
    957
    I actually spoke too soon! I can now see the .mod file in the module library inside of FG (new ruleset), but when I open it up, nothing shows up in the modifiers.

    I note that Core does not have tabs. Would the fact that in the old ruleset, my modifiers are divided up into a few different tabs, cause trouble with reading the export into the new ruleset?
    Last edited by seycyrus; February 17th, 2017 at 00:58.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    902
    Yes, probably.

    You will have to do an export, as a "test" case, using the new ruleset, and then manually alter the xml from your old ruleset export to match the format of the new ruleset.
    Timezone: Australian EST (GMT +10).
    Systems/Rulesets: GURPS 4th Edition.
    Campaigns (Ultimate License Holder)
    GURPS Traveller - The Empty Peace
    GURPS Shadowrun - Power Plays
    GURPS Banestorm - Dark Clouds Rising

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    East Coast USA.
    Posts
    957
    Quote Originally Posted by ronnke View Post
    ...You will have to do an export, as a "test" case, using the new ruleset, and then manually alter the xml from your old ruleset export to match the format of the new ruleset.
    Thank you for your help. In addition to the changes to the definititions.xml file, I had to make changes in the db.xml.

    1) I opened up the old ruleset and exported the modifiers.

    2) I opened up the new ruleset created a few modifers to create a template, and exported these modifiers.

    NOTE: In the old ruleset .mod file (in the db.xml), the modifiers are listed under <mod>, while in the new ruleset .mod file (again in db.xml), <modifiers> is used.

    NOTE: I **think** that under coreRPG, modifiers are no longer organizable into separate tabs. Therefore, <Category label ...> is no longer used.

    NOTE: The old ruleset identifies the name of modifier using <name type ="String"> ... , while the coreRPG uses <label type="String" > ...

    3) I did a find and replace every instance of "name type" with "label type" in the old ruleset export.

    4) I then copy-pasted, all of the modifiers from the old ruleset export db.xml to the new ruleset db.xml, making sure to exclude the <Category label= ... parts. In other words, just the names and bonuses of the modifiers, not the tab-names.

    5) Saved it, zipped it, changed extension back to mod. Placed in modules folder.

    5) Modifiers module opens up and shows 110+ modifiers. Yay!

  7. #7

    How to correct/change this?

    I made this, following the tutorial of seycyrus.
    Attachment 17972

    But the question is: How to put or made de list drag n drop? (How to put the icon?) (how enable?)



  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    East Coast USA.
    Posts
    957
    Quote Originally Posted by yako2020 View Post
    I made this, following the tutorial of seycyrus.
    Attachment 17972
    But the question is: How to put or made de list drag n drop? (How to put the icon?) (how enable?)
    I am not sure i understand your question. Are you asking if the modifiers that are in the main window can be dragged onto a character sheet? If so, the answer (as i just discovered) is, Not at this time.

    Or is the question something else?

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    902
    Quote Originally Posted by yako2020 View Post
    I made this, following the tutorial of seycyrus.
    Attachment 17972

    But the question is: How to put or made de list drag n drop? (How to put the icon?) (how enable?)
    Why do you have weapon accuracy as a modifier in your modifier list. Why not use the Acc mod in the weapon stats?
    Timezone: Australian EST (GMT +10).
    Systems/Rulesets: GURPS 4th Edition.
    Campaigns (Ultimate License Holder)
    GURPS Traveller - The Empty Peace
    GURPS Shadowrun - Power Plays
    GURPS Banestorm - Dark Clouds Rising

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    East Coast USA.
    Posts
    957
    Quote Originally Posted by ronnke View Post
    Why do you have weapon accuracy as a modifier in your modifier list. Why not use the Acc mod in the weapon stats?
    Because it was exported from the old gurps ruleset. If that functionality existed before, I was not aware of it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Fantasy Grounds Merchandise

Log in

Log in