5E Character Create Playlist
Page 1 of 6 123 ... Last

Mixed Up Character Data?

Hello,

I'm new to FG and everything involved so I'm hoping I'm just ignorant and misunderstand how this is supposed to work.

So I literally found FG a couple of weeks ago and I played my first couple of AL games. The little bits that I managed to glean for AL and FG are:

1-I need to have documentation in as many places as possible, AL Tools, PDF, FG, etc. which is fine.
    2-I learned that I need to keep better notes, etc.

So what I was trying to do was "rebuild" a character with cleaner notes, etc. but it looks like I'm getting mixed up data.

In manage characters (which I understand to my local machine)
    I start with the character I was playing. Call her Analee.
    I bring up the Half-Elf Bard from WOTC or the FB that I found that was the original template still called Half-Elf Bard.
    I copy/drag/re-type all of my notes/logs, inventory and from Analee to Half-Elf Bard.
    I now delete Analee.
    I now finish off by changing the name of Half-Elf Bard -> Analee
    Well, I'm still seeing mixed up information. Mixed up information as in inventory stuff that was probably from another version of Analee or the previous one where I was trying to clean out the data.

So my questions:

1-What is the proper way to rebuild a clean character with all of my notes? AL doesn't allow me to rename the characters and I'm not sure how FG merges or confuses the data for me.
    2-Is this a reasonable way to do it? Am I doing something fundamentally wrong?

Thanks!

Sounds like an issue with the FG in memory database getting confused with two sets of data with the same name.

I'd recommend that within a session of Manage Characters you don't use the same character name - e.g. build the new character as "Analee v2" or something. The name that FG is the PC label, I'm sure it's not an issue with AL as long as the base character name is first, and prefixes are obviously version tracking.