5E Character Create Playlist
Page 1 of 4 123 ... Last

Thread: Quick NPCs

Quick NPCs

Hi all,

I'm new to Fantasy Grounds and learning how to use it. Its a great program, but could someone please tell me if there is a quick way to draw up simple NPCs for combat purposes, for example if I need a 10th level warrior or a 3rd level cleric? I was hoping to be able to go to the Monster Manual and find human, or elf, or dwarf, and add a class or level, similar to DM Genie a long time ago, but no luck.

In addition, I have a number of NPCs who show up again and again in my campaign, and wish to have them constantly available. I assume I do that under the NPC icon, but again, is there away to do a quick NPC there, or do I have to draw them up somewhere else and manually input the details?

Silversteel

Blog Entries
    Welcome silversteel
    Which ruleset are you using?
    Generally you will need to make these yourself.
    You can export them to a mod for later re-use in another campaign.
    You can drag something that is close to it into your NPCs window and edit there. You can then drag that NPC to a blank spot in the window and you will get another copy you can update.
    There may be some better ways depending on what ruleset you are using but this is how i do it...

If you're running PF/3.5 there are a number of modules available with mostly ready-to-go NPCs in them. The NPC codex and the NPCs from the GM Guide are both available in module form. Just go to the 3.5/PF forums, and look for the modules stickied post. These are free.

For 5E, you can pay to have access to the Monster Manual.

Not sure what is out there for other rulesets.

Thank you both. I'm using 5E, and have the Monster Manual, but it doesn't seem to cater for PC races to my disappointment. The previous editions did include PC races. Maybe the best way to draw up a quick NPC for combat purposes or otherwise is just drag x levels of the relevant class into the PC sheet and do it that way?