Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. #1
    Skillkoil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Fayetteville, North Carolina
    Posts
    541
    Blog Entries
    3

    Error when rating a Blog.

    I posted this here instead of house of healing since it deals with the forums and not the program.

    When I try to rate a blog it gives me the following error message. Anyone have info on why this happens or how I can fix it?

    blogerror.png

    This happens after I choose a star number and click the "Vote Now" button.

    FG Con 13 Fantasy Grounds Online RPG Convention - October 12-14 2018
    Register at www.fg-con.com for all the latest info.
    My Blog
    Technical Administrator for Fantasy Grounds College
    Holder of the "Ultimate License" | Allower of Demo Players!
    GM of Nephilim Wars - 5E Post Apocalyptic Campaign
    DM of Destiny Calls - 5E Homebrew that includes Waterdeep: Dragon Heist

  2. #2
    Zacchaeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    10,453
    I just rated one (wasn’t aware you could) and didn’t get an error. I’m on a tablet so I imagine the browser is Chrome or whatever the Apple thing is called. Might be something to do with the browser you are using perhaps.
    If there is something that you would like to see in Fantasy Grounds that isn't currently part of the software or if there is something you think would improve a ruleset then add your idea to the wish list http://fg2app.idea.informer.com/

  3. #3
    Skillkoil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Fayetteville, North Carolina
    Posts
    541
    Blog Entries
    3
    Apple is Safari but I get what you are saying. I'm on a Windows 10 PC with Chrome as the browser and I get that error message. I will try a different browser and see if that works.

    FG Con 13 Fantasy Grounds Online RPG Convention - October 12-14 2018
    Register at www.fg-con.com for all the latest info.
    My Blog
    Technical Administrator for Fantasy Grounds College
    Holder of the "Ultimate License" | Allower of Demo Players!
    GM of Nephilim Wars - 5E Post Apocalyptic Campaign
    DM of Destiny Calls - 5E Homebrew that includes Waterdeep: Dragon Heist

  4. #4
    Skillkoil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Fayetteville, North Carolina
    Posts
    541
    Blog Entries
    3
    Tried using Microsoft Edge. Got same error but looks a little different. I think I remember when the Blogs were just started some of us were added as "Bloggers". Does it have something to do with accesss? I think your moderator status allows you to do pretty much anything.

    blogedgeerror.png

    FG Con 13 Fantasy Grounds Online RPG Convention - October 12-14 2018
    Register at www.fg-con.com for all the latest info.
    My Blog
    Technical Administrator for Fantasy Grounds College
    Holder of the "Ultimate License" | Allower of Demo Players!
    GM of Nephilim Wars - 5E Post Apocalyptic Campaign
    DM of Destiny Calls - 5E Homebrew that includes Waterdeep: Dragon Heist

  5. #5
    Zacchaeus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    10,453
    I dunno. I’ve never really looked at blogs. But I don’t think rating a blog would have anything to do with moderating the forums. After all anyone can rate a post so I would imagine rating a blog comes into the same sort of category as that. So it’s a strange one. I haven’t seen it reported before either. Maybe you’re the first to rate one.
    If there is something that you would like to see in Fantasy Grounds that isn't currently part of the software or if there is something you think would improve a ruleset then add your idea to the wish list http://fg2app.idea.informer.com/

  6. #6
    Skillkoil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Fayetteville, North Carolina
    Posts
    541
    Blog Entries
    3
    *SHRUGS*

    People have rated my Blog before. I don't know who did it, but I see the stars above the first Blog Post I made. Who knows buddy... It is just a weird one I guess.

    FG Con 13 Fantasy Grounds Online RPG Convention - October 12-14 2018
    Register at www.fg-con.com for all the latest info.
    My Blog
    Technical Administrator for Fantasy Grounds College
    Holder of the "Ultimate License" | Allower of Demo Players!
    GM of Nephilim Wars - 5E Post Apocalyptic Campaign
    DM of Destiny Calls - 5E Homebrew that includes Waterdeep: Dragon Heist

  7. #7
    Mortar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    820
    Blog Entries
    17
    I am on Chrome and Win10, I can rate a blog with no errors.
    Ultimate License Holder
    List of completed DLC products

  8. #8
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA (for a bit)
    Posts
    22,358
    @Skillkoil - just guessing here... The FG website tracks the IP address of anyone posting, interacting on the website. To allow for blocking spammers, etc.. The error suggests that the software can't get an IP address for you. Are you trying from a location that might try to mask your IP address? Work, using a VPN, etc..


    FG Product Development status: Pathfinder Playtest Ruleset and add-ons: In development. Pathfinder Bestiary, Pathfinder Bestiary 2, Pathfinder Bestiary 3 (in store).

    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  9. #9
    It is referencing an ip address as missing. Do you happen to be using a VPN or any other software that might be masking or hiding your ip address? I suspect there is a built in feature for vbulletin (the forum software we use) that requires an IP address for some reason.

  10. #10
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    18,478
    Blog Entries
    1
    you cant really not present an ip address.
    you can hide your current/actual address but only by using another ip address.
    vbulletin also seems to be picking up his cable ip ok too...

    MoreCore - Generic Ruleset
    --- Projects ---
    Extensions | Tutorials | MoreCore | MoreCore Themes | Call of Cthulhu | Maelstrom | FG Con

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in