DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 2 of 11 First 1234 ... Last
  1. #11
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26,678
    Blog Entries
    1
    Trenloe should I be keeping a copy of each version of CoreRPG?



    FG Con 6 – April 17-19th 2015 - register at www.fg-con.com for all the latest info.

  2. #12
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,402
    Quote Originally Posted by damned View Post
    Trenloe should I be keeping a copy of each version of CoreRPG?
    Ooooohhhhh, yes.

    Also, what I do in each extension I make (the more recent ones) is include a copy of the original files I based the extension on, labeling them something like ct_host_3.0.10.xml (for ct_host.xml from version 3.0.10). This then allows you to do a direct compare with the new version files - if the original and the new are the same then there's no need to update this specific custom file in your extension. This makes it a matter of minutes to review an extension when a new version of a ruleset comes out. Don't rely on looking at the release notes and thinking that your customisations won't be impacted. This is the way to be sure... (Other than taking off and nuking it from orbit).
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  3. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Trenloe View Post
    Don't rely on looking at the release notes and thinking that your customisations won't be impacted. This is the way to be sure... (Other than taking off and nuking it from orbit).
    You have to admit, nuking it from orbit would be a pretty sight. Truer words have never been spoken. Always have a compare program (I use Ultra Compare) to make sure nothing has impacted your code. In fact, the more modular you make it (in est not relying on other pieces of code you yourself have not written) the less chance of having to resort to the necessity of thermonuclear explosions. Generally keep 3 consecutive backups. That's generally a surefire number of backups (and in-code documentation) to avoid Trenloe's firry wrath!

    Cheers,
    SF
    Last edited by S Ferguson; March 10th, 2015 at 01:19.
    Aliens.... Go fig?

  4. #14
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26,678
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by S Ferguson View Post
    You have to admit, nuking it from orbit would be a pretty sight.
    Thanks! Its a little early to call for the nukes isnt it? Its only version 0.5 - it will get better.


    FG Con 6 – April 17-19th 2015 - register at www.fg-con.com for all the latest info.

  5. #15
    I can see the faint aura of a mushroom cloud scintillating off the window as we speak... I await v0.6 with bated breath.

    Cheers,
    SF
    Aliens.... Go fig?

  6. #16

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Vendsyssel (Denmark)
    Posts
    886
    Im thinking of adding an option on the Options view to allow you to change the colour of a column Between Black, Green and Red. It might be beneficial to have Wounds in Red for example. When I do that I will add an Option to choose Black or White for the Column headers.
    That would be great for us "non-coders". I hope it will happen, cause I love these extra options in Core.


    Vires Animi
    Last edited by viresanimi; March 10th, 2015 at 03:40.

  7. #17
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26,678
    Blog Entries
    1
    Trenloe any suggestions on how to programmatically change the template name or change the color tag within the template definition?

    Code:
    	<template name="stringw">
    		<stringfield>
    				<script>
    					function onInit()
    						local sColumnColour = OptionsManager.getOption("CTCHC");
    						Debug.console(sColumnColour);
    						end;
    		</script>
    			<font>smallheadertext</font>
    			<lineoffset default="on" mergerule="replace">2</lineoffset>
    			<color>sColumnColour</color>
    		</stringfield>
    	</template>
    Echo's the correct colour FFFFFF or 000000 but the colour is always black - Im assuming because it doesnt like sColumnColour in the color tag.

  8. #18
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    33,402
    Quote Originally Posted by damned View Post
    Echo's the correct colour FFFFFF or 000000 but the colour is always black - Im assuming because it doesnt like sColumnColour in the color tag.
    Variables are only available within the <script> scope - in your example specifically, sColumnColour is only available within the onInit() function, you can't put variables in XML parameters.

    To set the colour of a control use the setColor method: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/refdo...l.xcp#setColor

    As an aside, you can access XML parameters from a script. See the "Accessing XML parameters from script" section here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/modguide/scripting.xcp

    You could access the <color> element using color[1] or self.color[1] from within a script. The thing I don't know is if this is read only or if you can actually set the parameter through this. Anyway, you're best using the setColor method linked above.
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  9. #19
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26,678
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thankyou Trenloe - setColor works (as opposed to setColour).
    I couldnt run it one time on the template - it just didnt execute - so I have done it on each of the labels which is less neat but works.
    Later I will do something similar to allow the columns to be different colours - eg Red for Wounds and Green for Health.

    Viresenami Ive added your request in for v0.60 but I dont think you will like it - the text is hard to read against its background.



    FG Con 6 – April 17-19th 2015 - register at www.fg-con.com for all the latest info.

  10. #20
    damned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26,678
    Blog Entries
    1
    Viresenami Ive added your request in for v0.60 and Ive added options for the Actor column values to be Black | Red | Green - eg Green for HP and Red for Wounds might make sense.
    I wont put this version up until I have finished commenting it all up.

    Trenloe I suppose I should start testing it on 3.0.11....?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
STAR TREK 2d20

Log in

Log in