Fantasy Grounds Fridays Pre
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. #1
    JerryRig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Minnesota (Central Timezone)
    Posts
    592

    Rule clarification (Totall Defense) - Pathfinder

    The way it is written:

    Total Defense

    You can defend yourself as a standard action. You get a +4 dodge bonus to your AC for 1 round. Your AC improves at the start of this action. You can't combine total defense with fighting defensively or with the benefit of the Combat Expertise feat. You can't make attacks of opportunity while using total defense.

    So when a character gets two standard actions can they attack with their first standard action and go into total defense with their second under pathfinder rules?

    Any insight would be appreciated.


    Ultimate License Owner
    Member: THAC0 group

  2. #2
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, UK (for a bit)
    Posts
    29,133
    Quote Originally Posted by JerryRig View Post
    So when a character gets two standard actions can they attack with their first standard action and go into total defense with their second under pathfinder rules?
    What characters get two standard actions?
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  3. #3
    The answer to your question is yes. Though I have never heard of a way to receive a second standard action. The haste spell grants an additional attack with the full attack action. A couple abilities give free actions that mimic something you would need a standard action for.

    The closest I can think of is a monk using Panther Style that uses a standard action for total defense then a move action to provoke attacks of opportunity that trigger free action retaliatory strikes.
    I never claimed to be sane. Besides, it's more fun this way.

  4. #4
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, UK (for a bit)
    Posts
    29,133
    Quote Originally Posted by Nickademus View Post
    The closest I can think of is a monk using Panther Style that uses a standard action for total defense then a move action to provoke attacks of opportunity that trigger free action retaliatory strikes.
    In this example there is only one retaliatory strike as it is a swift action, not a free action. But, yeah, good example of when you can do an attack after spending a standard to go into total defence.
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Trenloe View Post
    In this example there is only one retaliatory strike as it is a swift action, not a free action. But, yeah, good example of when you can do an attack after spending a standard to go into total defence.
    The Panther Claw feat allows a monk in Panther Style to make a retaliatory strike as a free action up to a number of times in a round equal to its Wisdom modifier (or GM fiat). So in theory a monk with a 20 Wis could go total defense and move 30' through a group of five enemies getting five retaliatory strikes. With the Panther Parry feat, each retaliatory strike comes before the AoO so the monk, if lucky, could drop each enemy before their attack of opportunity had a chance to happen.

    What's sick is that a human fighter can all three of these feats (and the prereqs) by 3rd level.
    Last edited by Nickademus; January 14th, 2015 at 22:29.
    I never claimed to be sane. Besides, it's more fun this way.

  6. #6
    Trenloe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, UK (for a bit)
    Posts
    29,133
    Quote Originally Posted by Nickademus View Post
    The Panther Claw feat allows a monk in Panther Style to make a retaliatory strike as a free action up to a number of times in a round equal to its Wisdom modifier (or GM fiat). So in theory a monk with a 20 Wis could go total defense and move 30' through a group of five enemies getting five retaliatory strikes. With the Panther Parry feat, each retaliatory strike comes before the AoO so the monk, if lucky, could drop each enemy before their attack of opportunity had a chance to happen.

    What's sick is that a human fighter can all three of these feats (and the prereqs) by 3rd level.
    Oh right, missed that.

    Hopefully it won't get too cheesy, especially with intelligent creatures who probably won't take the attack of opportunity after seeing the first of their group get "panthered".
    Private Messages: My inbox is forever filling up with PMs. Please don't send me PMs unless they are actually private/personal messages. General FG questions should be asked in the forums - don't be afraid, the FG community don't bite and you're giving everyone the chance to respond and learn!

  7. #7
    All I'm saying is that when the zombie apocalypse happens, I'm bringing the monk.

    Derails aside, I am curious if Jerry found a way to get multiple standard actions. I know some spellcasters that would love that.
    I never claimed to be sane. Besides, it's more fun this way.

  8. #8
    JohnD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Winnipeg Canada
    Posts
    4,948
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Nickademus View Post
    The Panther Claw feat allows a monk in Panther Style to make a retaliatory strike as a free action up to a number of times in a round equal to its Wisdom modifier (or GM fiat). So in theory a monk with a 20 Wis could go total defense and move 30' through a group of five enemies getting five retaliatory strikes. With the Panther Parry feat, each retaliatory strike comes before the AoO so the monk, if lucky, could drop each enemy before their attack of opportunity had a chance to happen.

    What's sick is that a human fighter can all three of these feats (and the prereqs) by 3rd level.
    Yowzers.
    "Whoever would overthrow the liberty of a nation must begin by subduing the freeness of speech."

    "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."

    - Benjamin Franklin

    "The right to free speech is more important than the content of the speech."

    "Think for yourselves and let others enjoy the privilege to do so, too."

    - Voltaire

  9. #9
    Amazing Initiative (Ex): At 2nd tier, you gain a bonus on initiative checks equal to your mythic tier. In addition, as a free action on your turn, you can expend one use of mythic power to take an additional standard action during that turn. This additional standard action can't be used to cast a spell. You can't gain an extra action in this way more than once per round.

  10. #10
    I would expect something like that from mythic. Not really a part of the normal Pathfinder though. Besides, still can't cast an extra spell. :P
    I never claimed to be sane. Besides, it's more fun this way.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Joshua Stream Pre

Log in

Log in