DICE PACKS BUNDLE
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

A few observations and suggestions about the Ruleset

First of all if this is the wrong section for this kind of stuff could an admin move it to the appropriate place!

Ok, thanks to the FGII Con (great idea would love to see more of that kind of stuff) I got the opportunity to test the M&M Ruleset in action. For the most part the Ruleset functions great but I had a few observations and suggestions I would like to make. I would like to point out that I am new to this tool as well, this was my first FGII session, so if any of this is just my lack of understanding of the tool please let me know.

Documentation
    One of the bigger issues I have found while attempting to use the Ruleset is a general lack of documentation on the features involved in utilizing the ruleset. I'm not talking about general FG II items like rolling the dice or such but items specific about the M&M Ruleset such as:

Entering NPC sheet data.
    • When you are entering data into the NPC sheet it would be nice to have documentation showing how to make the entries correctly to have the rolling automation work.
    • Documentation on if the system automatically adds in the "base save/resistance" to the DC or if we need to manually. What I mean here is that, in M&M 3e, a damage effect, usually calling for a toughness save, DC is calculated at 15+Rank+Modifiers; whereas a resistance check, generally against a save other than toughness, goes against a DC of 10+Rank+Modifiers. Is that base number (15 or 10) automatically added for us? Through experimentation we know it isn't, but some documentation would have help here.
    • Use of keywords. A list of parsable keywords would help. It is only through experimentation in entering NPC that we see some of the keywords such as Ranged and Close have an effect and what that effect is. Also, the correct placement of these keywords is important.