FG Spreadshirt Swag
  1. #1

    Questions about SW system and ruleset

    I was wondering, the SW ruleset reports when a 'Trait roll' is a '1'. My understanding is, the roll doesn't fail unless both die come up '1' (for Wildcards). Is there a rule I'm missing that says something happens when the trait roll comes up 1 (and the Wilddie does not), or is that just for reference?

    Another question I've always had, in the rule book it gives an example of someone making a ranged attack, at the default TN of 4. In the example they mention that if you roll 4 over to hit then you hit with a raise. Is that 4 default for all skill raises, no matter the TN? For example, if I'm in melee combat with someone that has a parry of 6, do I need a 10 to raise, or a 12?

    Thanks,
    Nez
    Ultimate License
    Rulesets by NezziR:
    WFRP2 for FGI, WFRP2 for FGII, Dark Heresy for FGII,
    Savage Fallout for FGII and Savage Worlds, FGII help mod.


    https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/fgvtt/files

  2. #2
    Doswelk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    2,534
    Quote Originally Posted by nezzir
    I was wondering, the SW ruleset reports when a 'Trait roll' is a '1'. My understanding is, the roll doesn't fail unless both die come up '1' (for Wildcards). Is there a rule I'm missing that says something happens when the trait roll comes up 1 (and the Wilddie does not), or is that just for reference?
    Most powers have a problem if you roll a one on the skill die, e.g. Shaken for each '1' rolled, so casting 3 bolts can cause Shaken and two wounds to the caster.

    Other settings add other rules, for example weapons can jam or degrade in quality when a '1' is rolled.

    Quote Originally Posted by nezzir
    Another question I've always had, in the rule book it gives an example of someone making a ranged attack, at the default TN of 4. In the example they mention that if you roll 4 over to hit then you hit with a raise. Is that 4 default for all skill raises, no matter the TN? For example, if I'm in melee combat with someone that has a parry of 6, do I need a 10 to raise, or a 12?
    To get a raise you must roll 4 or more higher than the required target number:

    e.g.

    Shooting a target at short range: 4 = hit, 8 = hit with raise
    Shooting a target at medium range: 4 -2 (range modifer) = miss, 6 -2 = hit, 10 -2 = hit with raise.

    Fighting roll against a Parry of 6: 6 = hit, 10 = hit with raise.

    Hope that helps!

    Thanks,
    Nez[/QUOTE]
    My players just defeated an army, had a dogfight with aliens, machine-gunned the zombies, stormed the tower, became Legendary and died heroically

    Yours are still on combat round 6

    Get Savage
    Ultimate License Holder.
    First GM to post a game for the original FG Con!

  3. #3
    Yes, that answers my questions completely. Thank you.

    --Nez
    Ultimate License
    Rulesets by NezziR:
    WFRP2 for FGI, WFRP2 for FGII, Dark Heresy for FGII,
    Savage Fallout for FGII and Savage Worlds, FGII help mod.


    https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/fgvtt/files

  4. #4
    I have one on a similar topic...

    We're using the Savage World Extensions, not sure if this "issue" exists without it yet.

    On the Character sheet, one can right-click on a trait and set (semi-permanent) modifiers to the roll for that trait. This modifier shows itself in the lower-right of the trait dice.

    But, somehow (the crux of the issue), one can also modify the wild-die associated with that trait... apparently also semi-permanently. This shows up as a d8 (or whatever die) in the upper right of the trait dice.

    I have one character sheet showing this "accidentally" (and getting the resulting rolls)... and I don't know how to reset or remove it. Any pointers?

  5. #5
    Ikael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Finland/Joensuu
    Posts
    2,349
    Quote Originally Posted by Tryll
    I have one on a similar topic...

    We're using the Savage World Extensions, not sure if this "issue" exists without it yet.

    On the Character sheet, one can right-click on a trait and set (semi-permanent) modifiers to the roll for that trait. This modifier shows itself in the lower-right of the trait dice.

    But, somehow (the crux of the issue), one can also modify the wild-die associated with that trait... apparently also semi-permanently. This shows up as a d8 (or whatever die) in the upper right of the trait dice.

    I have one character sheet showing this "accidentally" (and getting the resulting rolls)... and I don't know how to reset or remove it. Any pointers?
    I quess you're refering to SWFI (Savage World Feature Improvements) extension? Wild-die can be assigned individually for each trait by holding ALT button down and dragging-and-dropping any die on the traitfield. If selected wild die differs from regular wild die (usually d6) it's displayed on the righttop corner of the trait. So basically drag-and-drop your campaign's wild die into that trait's field and remember to hold ALT down to reset it.
    "Alright, you primitive screwheads, listen up: THIS... is my BOOMSTICK!" -- Ash Williams, Army of Darkness

    Post your SavageWorlds ruleset feature requests and issue reports here!

  6. #6
    Perfect. Yes, thanks for the quick response!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
SWADE Playlist

Log in

Log in