5E Character Create Playlist
Page 1 of 4 123 ... Last

Game Mechanics for Role Playing?

Ever since I started playing D&D 4e, I have routinely had people tell me that there is no roleplaying in the game.

Inevitably this is by people who still play 3.5 or pathfinder. When I ask them what they mean, they say something like that there are no game mechanics that support it.

Forgive me, but I have no clue what these people are talking about. Game mechanics for roleplaying? That is an oxymoron. Roleplaying is something that you do. You walk into the pub and talk to the bartender about if he knows anything about x, y, and z. He talks back to you. I'm unaware of this "game mechanic" that you need to do it. Is there a "talk to bartender" skill that you need? Is there a "speaking in character" skill that you need before you can do it? Or how about a "I only know what my character would know" skill.

Yes, I am being a bit satirical here. I'm aware that 3rd edition had a few skills like farming or performing or whatever. 4e didn't continue those skills. Does that mean you can't be a farmer or a performer anymore for roleplaying purposes. NO. It just means you don't need some book giving you permission to do so.

I can't attest to how everyone else plays 4e. I'm sure there are players and DM's out there that don't have a clue how to roleplay. However, every game I play, wether it's 4e or Savage Worlds or whatever, we roleplay. We don't need no stinkin permission or rules to do so. Thank you very much.

If people are playing 4e without roleplaying, it is either because they don't know how or know that you should or they simply don't care about it. It isn't cause the rules don't allow you to do it. It's a player issue, not an issue of the game.
    Last edited by vodokar; March 26th, 2011 at 12:13.