DICE PACKS BUNDLE
View RSS Feed

From The *Somewhat Twisted* Mind Of Dulux-Oz

Division Of Spoils

Rating: 8 votes, 4.00 average.
Recently a discussion was had on the Forums about how people divide up treasure. I won't bore you with the full details (you can read it here if you're interested) but I thought I'd elaborate more fully here on the method I outlined there on the thread. But first, a small detour to set things up.

How characters organise themselves into parties is many and varied, but over the years (I've been playing and GMing since 1982) I've noticed that almost all parties tend to organise themselves with the following "party positions:" party leader, mapper, quarter-master (QM) and treasurer. Now, obviously, not every party is going to have these positions and some parties have more, but these are the ones I've observed most often. It's also interesting to note that the position of mapper still exists even though we use electronic maps in FG - this is probably because I sometimes take the FG Map away (of look, you're so stressed you can't remember the way out of this dungeon - BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!) and so my players tend to make "scratch maps" as a back up in case this happens. But that's another story.

So, let me say first off that how players divide up the treasure is entirely up to the players - as GM I stay right out of it (as the NPCs and/or henchmen I have a say, but that's always as the NPC, never as the GM).