DICE PACKS BUNDLE
View RSS Feed

Phystus

Reuniting the Band: A Token Effort

Rate this Entry
Now that I had workable maps, it was time to get some tokens. Back in the day, when my group used to play face-to-face we were using 1st edition AD&D rules, and minis and battle maps weren’t terribly necessary. Back in those days I was a poor college student (and then a poor University employee) and I couldn’t afford to purchase minis. I had a few, but I also lacked the talent to paint them well, so I never used them, and none of my friends used minis either. I did have some cardboard figures (Steve Jackson’s Cardboard Heroes), but we only used them sporadically. Combat was largely “theater of the mind”.

Fantasy Grounds didn’t have a ruleset for 1st edition AD&D so I converted my campaign to D&D 3.5. Since 3.5 relies heavily on miniatures and a battle map, I had to do something about tokens for the characters and monsters. At the time (2008) FG only came with a few portraits, and they didn’t have many tokens for sale either. But I did have the Cardboard Heroes. In fact, I had purchased the complete set as a spiral-bound book at Gen Con the previous year.

So once again I turned to my trusty scanner. While scanning maps hadn’t worked out very well (see here and here for the gory details), I’m happy to say that scanning the cardboard figures worked quite well. Of course I had to open the scans in Paint Shop Pro, crop them to a square centered on the face, resize them, and save the result in PNG format, but that went pretty quickly.

While I had the scanner fired up, I scanned in all the monster figures from the set as well. I only did the cropping and resizing on the ones I expected to need soon, reasoning that I once I had the scanning done I could create the tokens pretty quickly, and I wouldn’t waste effort making tokens I wouldn’t use. Over the years I have built up quite a store of tokens this way.