PDA

View Full Version : Need help with Resizing Maps and Images

willquestion
March 26th, 2009, 14:45
Hey Guys,
I'm pretty new to FG2 and I'm trying to put a few modules into FG. I'm trying to figure out the best resolution to put these maps (and even pictures) for the players. Is there a general rule people like to follow? I watched Xorne's video on resizing maps and do most people make maps with the squares 50x50 pixels? Also, would it be best to make a large map for a level and reveal it as the players go, letting them pan and zoom as they like? Or do it room by room? Also, what's the max resolution size window for players? Sorry for all the questions, but like I said, I'm new to FG2.

Thanks,
Will

Leonal
March 26th, 2009, 15:03
Map size can really affect load times for players, if you have a map of several megs for example. I've tried both 50x50 pixel/square and 32x32, the latter a bit small for detailed models, but I'd recommend it for bigger maps so you don't need to zoom out all the time to get a better view.

The max window resolution is 700x700 for default if I recall correctly, but can be changed if you want to make it bigger. (a search will give point you to the correct xml file to edit.) I run dual monitor at 2960x1050, but one of my players uses 1280x1024 so I keep it at standard.

As for how large to make the map really depends on how you'd like to organize it. One of the pros of having one map is that you don't have to move the tokens between maps if the players often go between areas.

So far I've not needed to slize a map, but I've only ran the first two acts of Red Hand of Doom where there aren't any huge maps. I'd say it depends of the size of the map concerning load times.

richvalle
March 26th, 2009, 15:35
I think its better to use big maps with everything on them and just play there. It makes it seem less like a series of rooms and more like a place if you know what I mean.