PDA

View Full Version : New Computer and Moving FGII Data

Christopher Altman
March 1st, 2009, 19:37
Hi everyone,

I have been running a campaign in FG now for about two months. I have created quite a bit of content in my campaign, especially "Personality" files for complex NPCs, complete with their skills, feats, class abilities, possessions, stories, and combat stats. Everything.

However, I have just purchased a new computer. (It is on its way via FedEx as we speak!) I am wondering if there is a relatively easy method for transferring my FG data to my new computer. I would like to avoid having to start from scratch and to rewrite it.

I searched the forums for threads on this matter, but could find none. So, if there is a thread that covers this, feel free to simply post a link to that entry.

I should also add that I am not, by any means, a computer expert--or anything close. I am proficient with the basic functions of Windows, at best. So, I am most likely being dense in regard to how to best handle this matter.

Thanks!

An additional word:

This is my first post, and I am relatively new to FG. (I love it!) Since discovering DnD, I have lived in various areas in the eastern United States (South Carolina, New York State, and Washington, DC), where I met and ran for many a great player in physical tabletop DnD games; however, when I had to move, I was forced to leave each of those games (and the great players in them) behind.

You can imagine how happy I was to discover FGII! Now I've brought together five of my very best players (who are also good friends of mine), and we're having a blast!

Thanks very much to the developers of Fantasy Grounds II for making online tabletop gaming a reality--without turning it into a video game! :)

--Chris Altman

Spyke
March 1st, 2009, 22:45
You should be able to simply copy your campaign folder from your old computer to your new one.