PDA

View Full Version : Map size question

Captcorajus
January 19th, 2009, 16:11
Is 225kb a decent size for a map? I'm new to FG and making my first dungeon, (although I've been a DM for 29 years).

It seems to load pretty fast when I open a second player instance (as opposed to the 5mb size i started off with). Just wondering what the "normal size" is for decent load speed.

I have made a bunch of "placeable object" tokens: Dungeon doors, Sarcophagus, Wizards Desk, Treasure chests etc. These are all about the same size as character and monster tokens (memory wise), and I saved them all as PNG files.

I ask, because it seems like I can go ahead and put all that on the map and leave it, rather that place them "in game". Is this what others are doing?

I have all the World Works 3d kits, and was able to cut and paste some really nice looking stuff. Using perspective skews in photoshop I made some chairs that look really cool, etc.

I'm using the method Xorn described for making monster tokens to make the "placeable objects". I can open doors, and move stuff around during the game doing it this way, and seems like it loads ok when I open a second instance on my laptop.

Tenian
January 19th, 2009, 16:31
I've never played in a game that used tokens for doors, chests, etc. I don't see any reason why you couldn't, but I think it might be a bit of overkill.

In a typical 4E encounter there are usually 4-6pcs, and at least that many NPCs (sometimes a lot more if the encounter is minion heavy...like 1 kobold wyrmpriest and 16 minions!). As a GM you'll need to manage all the NPC tokens and these new door/chest/whatever tokens. You might find yourself overwhelmed.

In the games I've played the GMs just make use of the in game drawing tools to "scribble" over doors that have been locked/closed/blocked or other changes to scenery. It conveys the same message but is probably a lot faster.