PDA

View Full Version : question about token scaling

Captcorajus
January 15th, 2009, 22:30
Hey all,

Newbie here, and I'm at the "playing around" with the system stage to see what I can do.

I saw the video on making your own token using D&D mini pics. Very cool.

I created a few PNG files, at 100 pixels high for man sized. I was wondering how you scale for larger creatures.... like dragons and such.

Thanks,

Dave

primarch
January 15th, 2009, 22:48
Hey all,

Newbie here, and I'm at the "playing around" with the system stage to see what I can do.

I saw the video on making your own token using D&D mini pics. Very cool.

I created a few PNG files, at 100 pixels high for man sized. I was wondering how you scale for larger creatures.... like dragons and such.

Thanks,

Dave

Hi!

I second this question. I was wondering the same things.

Perhaps, if the Xorn is so kind, he may tell us the pixel sizes all the way up the size ladder to gargantuan. :)

Primarch

Leonal
January 15th, 2009, 22:57
For d&d 3.5 and I'd refer to the creature sizes: p314 Monster Manual or in the d20 srd (near the bottom) https://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/movementPositionAndDistance.htm

So if a medium (5ft) sized creature is 100 pixels then a colossal (30ft+) would be 600 or more..(which is rather huge in FG)

icedcrow
January 16th, 2009, 15:55
For large I go 150x150.
I expound from there. Then the tool scales it down for me while playing.

Actually for my maps, 100x100 pure without scaling is just about covering 2x2 squares.

Captcorajus
January 16th, 2009, 16:16
Well, this seem a little more tricky than that.

Lets say I'm using a colossal token... but the mini pic of the colossad dragon for example. The rules say that the fig takes up a space of 30x30ft (6x6 squares on the map).

The pic is a front view, even though we are looking "overhead".

I am still looking at the demo version, so I can't play around with this functionality yet, I was just trying to get an idea how it might work.