PDA

View Full Version : Paranoia Ruleset

Andeee
December 9th, 2008, 15:12
I would dearly love to create a Paranoia ruleset, despite the fact I haven't played it in years. The only problems are, that I'm new to FG, have zero xml experience and don't know what I'm doing.

Is this then, a bad idea? How much free time would I need?

Cheers
Andeee

PneumaPilot
December 9th, 2008, 17:26
I would just recommend taking something easy like the adventure_npc.xml file (that's the NPC window) and start playing with some of the numbers to watch how controls move around. Start with the stuff you can understand - like the size and location numbers - and slowly work your way up to more difficult concepts (like scripting). I think that anyone can do it if they have patience. It also helps if you really plan to use it. I know that in the development of my ruleset (the nWoD one) that the fact that I have to play with five other guys every Thursday keeps me tweaking when I might otherwise have stopped.

mr_h
December 10th, 2008, 14:08
Paranoia would be an awesome ruleset to have. I echo Pilots comment, that's how I did my first ruleset. It's mostly trial and error. Concentrate on the character sheet first...that's really what you HAVE to have to play the game....

PneumaPilot
December 10th, 2008, 14:37
It wood be cool to have a trainer for noobs that would have a mostly blank character sheet with one of each of the most simple controls. They could change things, type "/reload" and watch the effects. The character sheet that comes standard in the D20 set is so complex that I was scared to delete anything at first because I thought it might cause a massive crash.

Oberoten
December 10th, 2008, 18:53
Hmm... There is a Generic basic ruleset here somewhere on the forums.

I'll add it to the Wiki

Andeee
December 10th, 2008, 19:43