PDA

View Full Version : Combat Tracker

Oberoten
November 10th, 2008, 14:53
Having finally managed to wrap my head around the combat tracker... (barely at that)

I wonder this : I want to ADD a value to another whenever the combat tracker hits a character. Like the count-down of special effects mainly.

(( What I do is that I have a combat tracker that counts seconds and when an action is done it should add seconds to the base initiative value of the entry... I just need to know WHERE to dump the code for this to make it work. ))

Tarostar
November 10th, 2008, 15:02
I think you are looking for function nextActor() in combattracker.lua.

I've added some code in there to keep track of the current initiative value and I don't think you should have any difficulty figuring out where to put your code.

In fact in the original d20 ruleset v.effects.progressEffects(activeinit, nextactorinit) is being called in this function to count down the effects. Adjusting the initiative should be even easier.

Oberoten
November 10th, 2008, 16:54
Next silly question?
How do I pull a value from the tracker? It isn't in the Database?

- Obe

Tarostar
November 10th, 2008, 17:25
Next silly question?

- Obe

Nope, that's why I changed the combattracker to store its data in the database (see my thread here (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9261)).

By default the combattracker data is stored in the CampaignRegistry.lua.

PneumaPilot
November 10th, 2008, 17:31
What kind of data are you wanting to pull from the tracker? We're not talking about updating something simple like hp are we?

Oberoten
November 10th, 2008, 18:29
I have two numbers in the tracker... one is called ActValue and the other is initiativeresult I want add the ActValue to the initiative result when the entry gets hit by the tracker OR when I press next segment. Preferably when I press next actually.

PneumaPilot
November 10th, 2008, 21:09