PDA

View Full Version : Useful?

Tenian
October 2nd, 2008, 17:57
Recently I started playing in the 4E LFR community. For those of you that aren't familiar with RPGA play, essentially the players take their characters with them as they play in adventures run by different GMs.

This works great in the pen and paper world where all you have to do is bring a few sheets of paper with you. Not so great in the FGII VTT world as you are stuck re-entering your character / updating it in several places or the GMs have to work out some sort of campaign file sharing method.

I quickly (like the second time I had to do it) got sick of re-entering my character. I took a look at the campaign directory and figured out how and where character data is stored. I then knocked out a little VB program that extracts the characters from one campaign (saves them in serialized files) and imports them into a second campaign.

It's not quite ready for public usage, but if there is interest, I could release a version.

You can see the program here (https://dnd-4e.blogspot.com/2008/10/sick-and-tired.html). The blog is where I prattle on about my 4E projects, but the copy tool is not ruleset specific. It should work for any ruleset with a charsheet node. I wouldn't recommend exporting from one ruleset and importing into another...

And the LFR FGII community can be found here (https://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/RPGA_Group/). They are always looking for more players and GMs :)

Sorontar
October 2nd, 2008, 18:35
I'd have to say that if this is reliable then it'd be awesome, not just for LFR but for groups that share DMing in a continuous campaign also.

I may or may not get to use this but it'd be great of you to give us the option.

chipmafia
October 2nd, 2008, 18:59
I would be interested for sure.

RiverRat
October 2nd, 2008, 19:08