PDA

View Full Version : Size limitation to campaigns?

chipmafia
August 15th, 2008, 03:45
Is there a limit to the size of one's campaign? Most generally this would be speaking of the actually file size, but more specifically: Are there limits to the amounts of Story lines, personalities, maps, etc?

The reason I ask is because I am currently using the Fallcrest city info as a springboard/primer to other adventures. I am new to FG GMing and have been out of DMing since 3.0. I have a family now, so finding this in my new DM guide was like finding a sunken treasure. (since I don't want to take the time to create like I could when I was a college student)

I basically want to use the Fallcrest campaign as an offshoot to various adventures. Is this a good idea? Will I run into size issues? Should I simply start new campaigns?

Thanks for your input. I thoroughly enjoy the insight and experience I have gleaned from this community.

Xorn
August 15th, 2008, 04:16
You'll see a lot of styles among the DMs here, but I guess they would fall into two major categories of campaign prep:

1. Run most of your stuff from the books, and just keep primarily maps/images and personalities in your campaign. Since that's really all you need to play (maps, dice, and monsters) this has the least prep time. Plus as your monster and map libraries grow, you'll need less and less prep. Griogre has some great ways to even sort stuff, by prefixing the maps for a certain adventure with that module number. (Like H1 for anything from KotS.) Then you can filter your map list to only show "H1", etc. There's a little more to it than that, but that's the basic idea.