PDA

View Full Version : Help! Suddenly no one can connect!

Morfedel
August 10th, 2008, 16:25
Help!

I havent changed my network settings one bit, we played last week, and we tested the server, several times, no problem. Suddenly, today, no one can connect!

Does someone know if something is going on that would prevent that?!

Phystus
August 10th, 2008, 20:01
I'm a newbie at this, but I know some things to try. Do you use the alias server? If not, your IP address may have changed. Mine changes occasionally, seemingly at random. You can go here https://www.whatsmyip.org/ to check it.

There's a series of steps that Smiteworks suggest here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/faq.php?faq=fantasy_grounds_faq#faq_networking

Hope that helps.

~P

Polyhedral
August 10th, 2008, 20:55
Yes, almost all broadband connections have a dynamic IP which means it changes every now and then. Sometimes everytime you shut down. There are services like DynDNS (which is free if memory serves, I used to use it for Dominions games). You can get fixed Ips from some ISPs but that costs extra usually.

unerwünscht
August 10th, 2008, 22:15
Yes, almost all broadband connections have a dynamic IP which means it changes every now and then. Sometimes everytime you shut down. There are services like DynDNS (which is free if memory serves, I used to use it for Dominions games). You can get fixed Ips from some ISPs but that costs extra usually.

I don't want to say you are wrong. But if you are in America your IP is on a lease and the minimum lease in the united states (thanks to the Digital Millenium Anti-Piracy Act) is 168 hours, which translates to 7 days. Most ISPs in the United States have switched to holding an IP lease for about 30 days, due to the fact that everyone is scared of the secret service busting down their door because some downloaded a movie.

Tenian
August 10th, 2008, 23:21
It's more likely his internal IP address changed and he has to update the port forwarding in his router.