PDA

View Full Version : acceptDrop

Tenian
July 25th, 2008, 03:20
My latest query...

I have a class of magic items, in it is a windowlist defining the powers assoicated with the magic item.

I want to take my magic item class and drop it into the item container (the item_list class of adventure_items.xml).

The acceptDrop works great for transferring the basic fields, but it doesn't seem to work with windowlist.

Any ideas how to make this happen?

Foen
July 25th, 2008, 07:10
This is the subject of an earlier post here (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8294).

It is a messy subject, especially if you have any formatted text fields.

Stuart

Tenian
July 25th, 2008, 11:32
Forutnately the two lists I need to drop are simple. One is a list of stringfields, the other is a list of links. Neither are formattedtext.

Any chance you could provide some psuedo code of your solution? Either here or in the other thread is fine.

I've very little experience playing with event handlers (not that that will stop me!).

Foen
July 25th, 2008, 14:52
For relatively simple window classes, you need to abandon the acceptDrop tags in the target list, and implement onDrop instead. For a good example, take a look at the onDrop handler in combattracker.lua and the way it detects the type of window being dropped and invokes addNpc.

Within the onDrop (or your equivalent to addNpc) you can iterate through the list of powers and add them to the target list. There isn't any code like that in combattracker.lua, but it works like this:

for i,win in ipairs(source.powerlist.getWindows())
local newwin = target.powerlist.createWindow();
newwin.name.setValue(win.name.getValue());
end

Hope that gives you enough to go on, otherwise shout and I'll try to be a bit more specific.

Cheers

Stuart

Tenian
July 26th, 2008, 01:03
You got a bit ahead of me there.

I added an onDrop and that works:

function onDrop(x, y, draginfo)
if draginfo.isType("shortcut") then