PDA

View Full Version : Hey all. . .

Endrek03
July 8th, 2008, 01:11
Evening,
I'm completely new to Fantasy Grounds (2?), so naturally I have many (too many) questions regarding so much. I don't have much time to type, so I'll just ask a few for now. :)

1) I'm still not exactly grasping combat in FG2.
1a) First, it seems FG2 is very prone to schniniingianans. I trust my group, so I doubt it will happen. . . but with the ability for players to rotate tiles as well as constantly set move paths enough to drive the GM insane, it just seems rather. . . strange. As well as the ability for players to change their character sheets in any way they deem necessary. Anyone have problems with this or am I missing some LOCK feature?
2a) I heard someone mentioning that "Fantasy Grounds 2 has problems with 1 hit kills" (ala Minions in 4th Edition), but I don't see how. Again, unless I'm missing something the Combat Tracker seems to just be there rather than play a pivotal role in a fight (Although I will say the Combat Tracker is VERY nice and am glad to have it.)
My point being is that if a character takes 5 points of damage, the Combat Tracker doesn't care, you still have to manually deduct 5 points from the HP of the character hit.

2) D&D 4th Edition.
Yes, yes I know this is a topic that I've been seeing a lot on the Forums and I've been trying to grasp it the best I can.
However, having not yet bought FG2 (Though soon, I hope), I don't know how easily translatable it is to use 4th Edition rules. . . heck, I don't even know how easy it is to MAKE a new Ruleset.
I was only excited about 4E because it bolstered strong online play. Having many out of state friends this was a good thing. However, D&DI is blowing it, and I still have friends I want to play with.