PDA

View Full Version : Recent Issues with FG2

docplutonium
July 3rd, 2008, 21:05
Hey All.

I have been playing with my group for about 8 months, and until about 4 weeks ago, Fantasy Grounds was running flawlessly. Sure, once in a while someone lost connection, but they were able to jump right back on.

So that is why recently the problems with FG2 have been so vexing! I believe (but am not 100% positive) that they all started to happen about the time that I upgraded to the latest Patch of FG2.

Since that time, my players have been unable to see any maps I have been posting. One will see it, but the other 5 will not. Or all can see a 1.5 Mb Map, but then not the 60K maps, It's driving me frigging bonkers and we've had to scrap the last 3 sessions because of it.

I can't for the life of me figure out what is going on! I have done the following in an attempt to resolve the situation...

1) Re-install FG
2) Disable the QOS service from my Network Adapters
3) Try smaller maps, different Maps, doesn't matter...

Now, we also were using Moon's FG 1.3 Patch upgrade. It's just a god send. Everyone LOVES FG2 in the group, but Moon's 1.3 rule-set patch is just icing on the cake. So, removing that, and just playing with the default FG2 rule set and viola! My players can see the maps again.

But, with that being said, I noticed that FG2 takes about 130 Mb of memory when it loads with just the plain default rule set. FG2 Takes about 470 Mb of memory when I use Moon's 1.3 Rule-set patch. So maybe the issue is that my computer is running out of memory ???? I mean, I have 2 GB on board so that doesn't seem to be an issue, but I am trying to understand why the loss of map sharing.

I guess I would like to go back to my FG2 environment with Moon's 1.3 upgrade. But if it is a memory issue, why now all of a sudden ? Is there a theoretical limit of the amount of memory FG2 can use ?